1997 NAIA Women’s Cross Country – National Championship Results

Originally posted on NAIA website.

18th Annual NAIA Women’s Cross Country National Championships
November 15, 1997
University of Wisconsin-Parkside, Kenosha, Wis.
10:30 a.m. (Central)

Simon Fraser University (B.C.) clinched its second consecutive women’s team title as the Clan totaled a score of 56 points. Heather DeGeest, a junior two-time All-American, outlasted teammate and three-time defending national champion Cari Rampersad in the five-kilometer race by 20 meters to claim the individual title in time of 18:33. Going into this year’s race, DeGeest had finished second behind Rampersad for two consecutive years. Rampersad finished in 18:40.

The University of Puget Sound (Wash.) finished a distant second place in the women’s race as the Loggers scattered four runners among the top thirty finishers including Kate Schmitt, who placed third with a time of 18:56.

The 1997 NAIA Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year is Ben Welch from Eastern Oregon University. The Mountaineers, who place 25th in 1996, earned sixth in this year’s race.

Team Results
Place School Score
1 Simon Fraser University 56
2 University of Puget Sound 118
3 Westmont College 147
4 Hillsdale College 204
5 Berry College 231
6 Eastern Oregon University 269
7 Pacific Lutheran University 281
8 Malone College 282
9 Phillips University 284
10 Azusa Pacific University 320
11 Siena Heights College 347
12 Concordia College, NE 369
13 University of Mary 384
14 Houghton College 387
15 Western Oregon University 420
16 Aquinas College 446
16 University of Rio Grande 446
18 Oklahoma Baptist University 459
19 Cedarville College 461
20 Olivet Nazarene University 467
21 Jamestown College 478
22 Whitworth College 488
23 Dakota State University 495
24 Park College 507
25 Spring Arbor College 527
26 Huntington College 659
27 Southwestern College 667
28 Lindenwood College 724
29 University of Mobile 797
30 Southeastern Oklahoma State University 919
31 Georgian Court College 926
32 Midway College 966
33 Flagler College 1048
34 Dominican College 1054
35 Shorter College 1084
Individual Results*
Place Runner, School Time
1 Heather Degeest,, Simon Fraser University 18:33
2 Cari Rampersad, Simon Fraser University 18:40
3 Kate Schmitt, University of Puget Sound 18:56
4 Tina Richards, Siena Heights College 19:04
5 Marie Parker, Dakots State University 19:17
6 Carolyn Murray, Simon Fraser University 19:28
7 Leslie Ervin, Aquinas College 19:31
8 Susan Wells, Berry College 19:35
9 Michelle Abernathy, Berry College 19:37
10 Hellen Jelimo, Cascade College 19:44
11 Annaka Gustafson, Westmont College 19:45
12 Ann Marie Hynes, University of Rio Grande 19:46
13 Paustine Kigen, Life University 19:47
14 Andrea Boitano, University of Puget Sound 19:48
15 Desneige McLean, Simon Fraser University 19:49
16 Erin Courtright, Cornerstone College 19:50
17 Gabriela Hnilkova, Oklahoma Baptist University 19:50
18 Sara Vanschyndel, Hillsdale College 19:52
19 Shane Harris, Berry College 19:56
20 Kirsty Weir, Phillips University 19:56
21 Laurie Fox, University of Mary 19:58
22 Jennifer Funk, Eastern Oregon University 20:02
23 Amy Crews, Marian College 20:07
24 Jackie Bucholz, Hillsdale College 20:08
25 Becky Jordan, Cedarville College 20:08
26 Stacey Wenger, Malone College 20:08
27 Heather McDowell, Westmont College 20:09
28 Amy Luft, Concordia College, NE 20:13
29 Tara Overstreet, Phillips University 20:15
30 Brittany Riggins, Cumberland College 20:16

* top thirty individuals were named NAIA All-Americans

Click here for complete field results.

Here is the 36-team field for the 1997 NAIA Women’s Cross Country National Championships. Conference/section champions are listed first alphabetically by conference. Listed after the conference/section champions are the at-large qulifiers into this year’s race.

Cascade Collegiate Conference:
 Eastern Oregon University
Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Olivet Nazarene University (Ill.)
Eastern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Voorhees College (S.C.)
Far West Region: Dominican College (Calif.)
Florida Sun Conference: Flagler College (Fla.)
Georgia Athletic Conference: Shorter College (Ga.)
Golden State Athletic Conference: Westmont College (Calif.)
Great Plains Region: University of Mary (N.D.)
Gulf Coast Athletic Conference: University of Mobile (Ala.)
Heart of America Athletic Conference: Lindenwood College (Mo.)
Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference: Southwestern College (Kan.)
Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Midway College (Ky.)
Keystone-Empire Collegiate Conference: Houghton College (N.Y.)
Mid-Central College Conference: Huntington College (Ind.)
Mid-Ohio Conference: Rio Grande (Ohio)
Mid-South Region: Hillsdale College (Mich.)
Midwest Region: Park College (Mo.)
Nebraska-Iowa Athletic Conference: Concordia College (Neb.)
Northeast Region: Georgian Court College (N.J.)
Northwest Conference of Independent Colleges: University of Puget Sound (Wash.)
Pacific Northwest Athletic Conference: Simon Fraser University (B.C.)
Sooner Athletic Conference: Oklahoma Baptist University
South Dakota-Iowa Athletic Conference: Dakota State University (S.D.)
Southwest Region: Southeastern Oklahoma State University
TranSouth Athletic Conference: Berry College (Ga.)
Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference: Siena Heights College (Mich.)

At-Large Berths (listed alphabetically):
Aquinas College (Mich.)
Azusa Pacific University (Calif.)
Cedarville College (Ohio)
Jamestown College (N.D.)
Malone College (Ohio)
Pacific Lutheran University (Wash.)
Phillips University (Okla.)
Spring Arbor College (Mich.)
Western Oregon University
Whitworth College (Wash.)

1997 NAIA Women’s Cross Country Final Top 25

1997 NAIA Men’s Cross Country Championship Information

News Release: Cross Country Races Toward a Champion

1997 NAIA Women’s Cross Country All-America Scholar-Athletes

For more information on the 1997 NAIA Women’s Cross Country National Championships contact Dave Wester of the NAIA Department of Sports Information.