Oregon’s Theisen Nets National Female Field Athlete of the Year Honors

By Tom Lewis, USTFCCCA

June 18, 2010   

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Friday that Oregon senior Brianne Theisen has been named the 2010 National Female Field Athlete of the Year for Outdoor Track & Field in Division I as voted by the nation’s coaches.

Theisen, a native of Humboldt, Saskatchewan, captured her second-straight national title in the heptathlon at last week’s NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore. Theisen notched a personal-best and Oregon school-record score of 6,094 points in defense of her crown, topping the field by over 400 points. During the competition, Theisen notched a new personal best and school record with a 13.39 run in the 100-meter hurdles.

The score of 6,094 currently ranks seventh in the world thus far in 2010 and places Theisen ninth all-time in the event among collegians.

While not considered as part of the award’s criteria, Theisen led off the Ducks’ 4×400-meter relay that captured the national title with photo-finish victory over Texas A&M. With a 53.7 split, Theisen helped Oregon to a 2010 collegiate best clocking of 3:28.54.

Earlier in the season, Theisen became the second from Oregon to win back-to-back Pac-10 titles in the heptathlon (Kelly Blair, 1993-94), scoring 5,917. Theisen also won the heptathlon at the Texas Relays.

Theisen has been in the running for The Bowerman for the entire indoor and outdoor seasons. The list of the 10 final candidates for The Bowerman will be announced Monday while the three male and three female finalists for the award will be announced the week of July 12.

The USTFCCCA’s National Assistant Coaches and Head Coaches of the Year will be announced next week.

Past National Female Field Athletes of the Year:

2010: Brianne Theisen, Oregon
2009: Kim Williams, Florida State
2008: Brittney Reese, Mississippi
2007: Jenny Dahlgren, Georgia
2006: Jenny Dahlgren, Georgia / Jacquelyn Johnson, Arizona State

USTFCCCA 2010 National Award Winners, Division I, Outdoor Track & Field

National Track Athlete of the Year: Andrew Wheating, Oregon
National Field Athletes of the Year: Ashton Eaton, Oregon / Ryan Whiting, Arizona State
National Assistant Coach of the Year: Wednesday, June 23
National Coach of the Year: Friday, June 25

National Track Athlete of the Year: Lisa Koll, Iowa State
National Field Athlete of the Year: Brianne Theisen, Oregon
National Assistant Coach of the Year: Tuesday, June 22
National Coach of the Year: Thursday, June 24