No Stopping Adams State: Winners of Fourth Program of the Year Crown
Award History
NCAA DII mTFXC Program of the Year

No Stopping Adams State: Winners of Fourth Program of the Year Crown

NEW ORLEANS – The men’s program at Adams State College of Alamosa, Colo., is the winner of the USTFCCCA Division II Program of the Year for the fourth-consecutive time. In the 2011-2012 academic year, the Grizzlies claimed their first NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championship team title to go with a pair of runner-up showings in the NCAA’s cross country and indoor track & field meets. The USTFCCCA Program of the Year award is given to an institution that had the best combined team finishes in each of the NCAA’s cross country/track & field sports in a given academic year.

FINAL Standings (PDF) | Program of the Year Award History

Adams State has claimed each Program of the Year titles for men’s Division II since the award program began in 2008-2009.

The Grizzlies are coached by Damon Martin and are assisted by Brandon Campbell, Brian Medigovich, Tanya Vassar, and Virginia Coindreau.

Adams State scored an all-time award low five points for the Program of the Year crown with the national title and dual runner-up showings.

In the fall, Adams State took runner-up honors to RMAC rival Western State at the NCAA Championships. Matt Bond and Tabor Stevens scored in the race’s top ten.

At the indoor national championships, the Grizzlies scored 47 points and were runner-up to Grand Canyon’s 54. Freshman Boris Berian won the national crown in the 800 meters while senior Andrew Graham won the mile national championship and placed second in the 800.

ASC won their first national outdoor crown this spring, scoring 77 points to beat out Lincoln (Mo.) by four points. Berian again won the 800 and Graham won the 1500 to pace the team that had 14 scorers.

National cross country champions Western State finished second overall in the POY standings (21½) – the best finish in program history. The Mountaineers placed third at the outdoor national championships.

Recording their best finish in program history, Ashland finished third (27½), scoring seventh-place indoor and outdoor track & field championship finishes.

A total of eight teams scored in each of the three Division II national championships this academic year.

The NCAA Division II Program of the Year Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs.  The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field seasons) based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Division II Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Division II Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

Program of the Year Award Standings (Top 5 FINAL)
Men’s Division II


Adams State

5 pts


Western State

21½ pts



27½ pts


Colorado Mines

38 pts


Augustana (S.D.)

49 pts