USTFCCCA Cross Country All-America Honors Awarded in Division I

USTFCCCA Cross Country All-America Honors Awarded in Division I

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Monday the 80 student-athletes that received All-America honors for the 2012 NCAA Division I Cross Country season. Overall finish at the NCAA Championships is the determining factor as the top 40 individuals from both men’s and women’s races earn All-America plaudits from the USTFCCCA.

USTFCCCA All-America Archive

The Oklahoma State Cowboys captured their third NCAA men’s cross country team title in a four-year period as Dave Smith’s squad won the day with a 63-point victory. The 72 points by OSU was the best team score to win the national title since Wisconsin in 2005 (37). Led by senior Girma Mecheso who finished fifth overall, the Cowboys picked up a national-high four All-America honors. Junior Tom Farrell (ninth), junior Shadrack Kipchirchir (18th), and junior Joseph Manilafasha (24th) also captured honors from the USTFCCCA.

Wisconsin and Colorado each placed three runners in the top 40 to follow Oklahoma State in the All-America tally.

In the conference race, the Pac-12 and Big 12 each had six male honorees, followed by the ACC (5) and Big Ten (4). If the NCAA Championships were scored by conference, the Big 12 would score 47 points as the top league – Texas Tech’s Kennedy Kithuka was the individual national champion and were followed by the Oklahoma State trio of All-Americans, and Texas’ Ryan Dohner placed 19th. The Big Ten would follow as the conference runner-up with 74 points. The Pac-12 would be third (85), the ACC fourth (102), SEC fifth (129), West Coast Conference sixth (171), Conference USA seventh (183), Big Sky eighth (190), Big East ninth (240), Ivy League tenth (242), and the Ohio Valley Conference 11th (284).

In the women’s championship, Oregon came away with their third overall cross country crown and their first since 1987. Senior Jordan Hasay was the top Duck with a third-place individual finish. She was joined in gaining All-America honors by senior Alexi Pappas (eighth) and senior transfer Katie Conlon (39th).

Stanford, Providence, and Florida State also claimed three women’s All-America honors.

The Pac-12 had 11 women gain All-America status – the most among the nation’s conferences. The ACC fell next with seven, followed by the Big East (4). Scoring the NCAA meet by conference, the Pac-12 would have the edge in scoring 51 points with Oregon’s Hasay and Pappas leading the way. Utah’s Amanda Mergaert placed 14th as the league’s third, Colorado’s Shalaya Kipp was 18th, and Arizona’s Elvin Kibet was 19th. The ACC would finish second in the fantasized meet with 72, and the Big 12 would be third (104), Big East fourth (105), SEC and Big Ten would tie for fifth (174), the Ivy League seventh (177), Big Sky eighth (243), CAA ninth (250), Mountain West tenth (251), Mid-American Conference 11th (271), and the Atlantic 10 12th (295).

The USTFCCCA will announce Division I National Athletes and Coaches of the Year on Tuesday.

2012 USTFCCCA Division I Cross Country All-Americans


Name Year Institution
Stephen Sambu SR Arizona
Lawi Lalang SO Arizona
Kemoy Campbell JR Arkansas
Jared Ward JR BYU
Tylor Thatcher JR BYU
Jake Hurysz JR Colorado
Aric VanHalen SR Colorado
Blake Theroux SO Colorado
Wade Meddles JR Eastern Kentucky
Soufiane Bouchikhi JR Eastern Kentucky
Jakub Zivec JR Florida State
Breandan O’Neill SR Florida State
Zachary Mayhew SR Indiana
Mitch Goose SR Iona
Matt Johnsen JR Lamar
David Rooney SR McNeese State
Brian Shrader JR Northern Arizona
Futsum Zienasellassie FR Northern Arizona
Andrew Colley JR NC State
Luke Caldwell JR New Mexico
Girma Mecheso SR Oklahoma State
Tom Farrell JR Oklahoma State
Shadrack Kipchirchir JR Oklahoma State
Joseph Manilafasha JR Oklahoma State
Scott Fauble SO Portland
Travis Mahoney SR Temple
Peter Okwera SO Tennessee
Ryan Dohner JR Texas
Henry Lelei SR Texas A&M
Kennedy Kithuka JR Texas Tech
Chris O’Hare JR Tulsa
Lane Werley SO UCLA
Paul Chelimo JR UNCG
Anthony Rotich FR UTEP
William Mulherin SR Virginia Tech
Zach Gates SR Virginia
Joseph Chebet SR Western Kentucky
Mohammed Ahmed SR Wisconsin
Maverick Darling SR Wisconsin
Reed Connor SR Wisconsin



Name Year Institution
Elvin Kibet JR Arizona
Jennifer Bergman SR Arizona
Shelby Houlihan SO Arizona State
Katie Clark JR Butler
Laura Hollander FR Cal Poly
Shalaya Kipp SR Colorado
Rachel Sorna JR Cornell
Katie Kellner SR Cornell
Abbey D’Agostino JR Dartmouth
Kelsey Lakowske FR Duke
Juliet Bottorff JR Duke
Violah Lagat SR Florida State
Colleen Quigley SO Florida State
Amanda Winslow SR Florida State
Mareike Schrulle SR Iowa
Betsy Saina SR Iowa State
Meaghan Nelson SR Iowa State
Cally Macumber JR Kentucky
Chelsea Oswald SR Kentucky
Lianne Farber SO North Carolina
Josephine Moultrie SR New Mexico
Julie Accurso JR Ohio
Jordan Hasay SR Oregon
Alexi Pappas SR Oregon
Katie Conlon SR Oregon
Sarah Collins FR Providence
Emily Sisson JR Providence
Laura Nagel JR Providence
Aisling Cuffe SO Stanford
Kathy Kroeger SR Stanford
Cayla Hatton FR Stanford
Marielle Hall JR Texas
Amanda Mergaert SR Utah
Risper Kimaiyo SR UTEP
Emily Lipari JR Villanova
Catherine White SR Virginia
Amber Henry JR Weber State
Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton SR Wichita State
Elaina Balouris JR William and Mary
Emily Stites FR William and Mary