D’Agostino Named DI Cross Country Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year

D’Agostino Named DI Cross Country Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – Abbey D’Agostino of Dartmouth was named the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year for the 2012 cross country season by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). This fall, D’Agostino finished runner-up at the NCAA DI Cross Country Championships.

Scholar Athletes are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest individually at the most recent NCAA Championships.

Cross Country Women’s Scholar Athlete of the Year – Abbey D’Agostino, Dartmouth

D’Agostino, a junior psychology major from Topsfield, Mass., has earned a 3.65 cumulative grade point average through the fall semester of 2012.

D’Agostino came within a second of claiming the NCAA DI Cross Country individual title, finishing runner-up in 19:28.6 over 6k – just seven-tenths of a second behind Iowa State’s Betsy Saina. D’Agostino, Saina and Oregon’s Jordan Hasay ran virtually even for the entire race, the difference being a final kick at the very end of the race.

She became the third Ivy- League runner to finish runner-up, and the first since 2005. She also claimed the Northeast Regional individual crown.

Past Winners

2012: Abbey D’Agostino, Dartmouth
2011: Sheila Reid, Villanova
2010: Sheila Reid, Villanova
2009: Angela Bizzarri, Illinois
2008: Tasmin Fanning, Virginia Tech
2007: Jenny Barringer, Colorado
2006: Jenny Barringer, Colorado

115 Earn All-Academic Status

In addition to the Scholar Athlete of the Year, the USTFCCCA also announced those women who earned 2012 Division I All-Academic Cross Country status.

A total of 115 student-athletes represent the 69 institutions that compose the group. Florida State led all schools in the country with five named to the All-Academic list followed by six schools (Kentucky, Duke, Michigan, Notre Dame, Georgetown, and Arkansas) that tallied four on the list.

Eight of the top 10 finishers from the NCAA Cross Country Championships in the fall earned All-Academic honors. In addition, six of the nine first-place finishers from the fall’s NCAA Regional Championships are All-Academic honorees. Twelve reported cumulative GPAs of 4.0 through the fall 2012 semester.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2012.

USTFCCCA 2012 Division I Women’s Cross Country All-Academic Honorees

Student-Athlete Institution
Shelby Houlihan Arizona State University
Kristina Aubert Arkansas State University
Jillian King Boston College
Liv Westphal Boston College
Natalie Shields Brigham Young University
Katie Clark Butler University
Laura Hollander California Polytechnic State University
Erin Barker Clemson University
Emily Stites College of William and Mary
Erin Gllingham Columbia University
Katie Kellner Cornell University
Emily Shearer Cornell University
Abbey D’Agostino Dartmouth College
Suejin Ahn Duke University
Carolyn Baskir Duke University
Juliet Bottorff Duke University
Kelsey Lakowske Duke University
Bjork Olsen East Carolina University
Jennifer Dunn Florida State University
Jessica Parry Florida State University
Colleen Quiglely Florida State University
Kayleigh  Tyerman Florida State University
Amanda Winslow Florida State University
Madeline Chambers Georgetown University
Katrina Coogan Georgetown University
Emily Jones Georgetown University
Kirsten Kasper Georgetown University
Katharine Showalter Georgia State University
Rachael Brewer Illinois State University
Kelsey Duerksen Indiana University, Bloomington
Meaghan Nelson Iowa State University
Kaitlin Harman James Madison University
Stephanie Bearish La Salle University
Wendy  Hutchinson La Salle University
Meghan McGlinchey La Salle University
Jennifer Klugh Liberty University
Danielle Walker Lipscomb University
Sheree Shea Loyola Marymount University
Gina Valgoi Loyola University Chicago
Lindsay Clark Michigan State University
Julia Otwell Michigan State University
Courtney Schultz New Mexico State University
Joanna Thompson North Carolina State University
Brecca Wahlund North Dakota State University
Juli Accurso Ohio University
Monika Juodeskaite Oklahoma State University
Leigha Anderson Pennsylvania State University
Giannotti Emily Pennsylvania State University
Victoria Perri Pennsylvania State University
Emily de La Bruyere Princeton University
Sarah Collins Providence College
Laura Nagel Providence College
Emily Sisson Providence College
Mary Alenbratt Southern Methodist University
Kirsten Bradford Southern Utah University
Jamie Smith Southern Utah University
Olivia Burne Stony Brook University
Sarah  Pagano Syracuse University
Annie-Norah Beveridge U.S. Naval Academy
Chelsea Sumney UNCG
Sarah Hudak University of Alabama at Birmingham
Elinor Kirk University of Alabama at Birmingham
Grace Heymsfield University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Paige Johnston University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Jessica Kamilos University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Diane Robison University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Sarah Sumpter University of California, Davis
Allison Lasnicki University of Connecticut
Lauren  Sara University of Connecticut
Alyssa  Schneider University of Illinois, Champaign
Megan Ranegar University of Iowa
Mareike Schrulle University of Iowa
Anna Bostrom University of Kentucky
Cally Macumber University of Kentucky
Chelsea Oswald University of Kentucky
Allison Peare University of Kentucky
Rebecca  Addison University of Michigan
Brook  Handler University of Michigan
Lindsey Hilton University of Michigan
Jillian Smith University of Michigan
Ashlie Decker University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Laura Docherty University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Molly Kayfes University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Katie Breathitt University of Mississippi
Lianne Farber University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Kelly Curran University of Notre Dame
Hannah Eckstein University of Notre Dame
Molly Seidel University of Notre Dame
Rebecca Tracy University of Notre Dame
Jessica Engel University of Oklahoma
Jordan Hasay University of Oregon
Alexi Pappas University of Oregon
Allie Woodward University of Oregon
Jill Prentice University of Richmond
Kayla Lampe University of South Carolina, Columbia
Stephanie Ledgerwood University of Southern Mississippi
Marielle Hall University of Texas at Austin
Laleh Mojtabaeezamani University of Texas at Austin
Megan Siebert University of Texas at Austin
Risper Kimaiyo University of Texas at El Paso
Judith Chumba University of Texas, Pan American
Giselle  Slotbom University of Utah
Barbara Strehler University of Virginia
Catherine White University of Virginia
Justine Johnson University of Washington
Gabi Anzalone University of Wisconsin, Madison
Ashley Beutler University of Wisconsin, Madison
Elizabeth Anderson Vanderbilt University
Summer Cook Villanova University
Sarah Callister Weber State University
Amber Henry Weber State University
Taylor Thornley Weber State University
Sarah-Anne Brault West Virginia University
Kelly Williams West Virginia University
Liana Epstein Yale University