Dominant Rollins & Barrett Named National Women’s Athletes of the Year

Dominant Rollins & Barrett Named National Women’s Athletes of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Wednesday that Clemson’s Brianna Rollins and Arizona’s Brigetta Barrett were the association’s National Women’s Athletes of the Year, as voted by the nation’s coaches, for the 2013 NCAA Division I outdoor track & field season. Rollins set the collegiate record in the 100 hurdles twice en route to an NCAA title in the event, while Barrett again won dominantly in the women’s high jump to claim her third title in a row outdoors.


Brianna Rollins, Clemson

Rollins, a junior from Miami, Fla., established herself as not only the best collegiate hurdler at 100 meters in history, but also among the best hurdlers in the world and in American history. She left no doubt who was the best collegiate hurdler of 2013, running away from the finals field to win in a collegiate record 12.39 (+1.7m/s) by .4 of a second — becoming the first collegiate woman to run faster than 12.40 in any conditions.

The time gives her the second-fastest in American history of any race run on U.S. soil, with Gail Devers’ 12.33 in 2000 the only better mark in that category. In overall American history, Rollins is now the fourth-fastest performer. She is also tied for No. 9 on the IAAF all-time world performers list with two others, meaning her fastest career time is ranked tied for No. 9 among all athletes’ career-best times in IAAF history.

The collegiate record she broke? None other than her own, set two days prior in the semifinals in 12.47 (+1.2m/s) to win by nearly half a second over eventual national runner-up Kori Carter of Stanford, who ended up setting a collegiate record of her own in the 400 hurdles. Rollins’ 12.47 surpassed the 12.48 posted by USC’s Ginnie Powell in 2006.

She won each of her nine races in the 100 hurdles, either prelims or finals, en route to an undefeated season that included an ACC title and a win at the Texas Relays. She won in Austin in 12.54w (+2.1m/s), which now gives her three of the seven fastest all-conditions times in collegiate history. She also helped her 4×100 team to a third-place finish at the NCAA Outdoor Championships.

Rollins is the first student-athlete from the ACC to win this award.

Past Winners:
2013: Brianna Rollins, Clemson
2012: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
2011: Sheila Reid, Villanova
2010: Lisa Koll, Iowa State
2009: Jenny Barringer, Colorado
2008: Sally Kipyego, Texas Tech
2007: Natasha Hastings, South Carolina
2006: Virginia Powell, Southern California



Brigetta Barrett, Arizona

Already one of the best high jumpers in collegiate history entering this outdoor season, Barrett, a senior from Wappingers Falls, N.Y., made her last season count with not only an NCAA title, but also a collegiate record earlier in the season. At the DI Championships in Eugene, Barrett won by 3½ inches with a clearance of 6-4¾ (1.95m), though she needed a dramatic third-attempt clearance at that height for a chance at three attempts to become the first collegian to clear 6-6¾ (2.00m) during the collegiate season. She was narrowly unsuccessful in those three attempts. The title, her third in a row outdoors, increased her career total to six — the most of any collegiate high jumper in history.

The in-season collegiate record she was trying to surpass was none other than her own mark of 6-6¼ (1.99m), which she set at the Pac-12 Championships in May. She cleared the 13 heights she attempted in one jump each, passing on five others along the way to 6-6¼ (1.99m), which she cleared on her third and final attempt. She then took three attempts at 6-7½ (2.02m), but could not clear. Her record surpassed the previous mark of 6-6 (1.98m), held jointly by Amy Acuff of UCLA in 1995 and Kajsa Bergqvist of SMU in 1999.

She was undefeated against collegians in five events this season, including a win at the Mt. SAC Relays and a Pac-12 title.

Past Winners:
2013: Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
2012: Brianne Theisen, Oregon
2011: Tina Sutej, Arkansas
2010: Brianne Theisen, Oregon
2009: Kim Williams, Florida State
2008: Brittney Reese, Mississippi
2007: Jenny Dahlgren, Georgia
2006: Jenny Dahlgren, Georgia / Jacquelyn Johnson, Arizona State