Oregon Women Claim Fifth-Straight Terry Crawford Program of the Year Honors
Award History
NCAA DI wTFXC Program of the Year

Oregon Women Claim Fifth-Straight Terry Crawford Program of the Year Honors

NEW ORLEANS – Though the Oregon women couldn’t quite pull off the triple crown of NCAA titles this year in cross country and indoor and outdoor track & field, they will continue their ongoing sweep of the Terry Crawford Women’s Division I Program of the Year Award, having now won it each of the five seasons it has been administered.

An outdoor title in front of their hometown crowd in Eugene after claiming the cross country and indoor titles had been the goal for the Ducks, but their third-place finish was more than adequate to lock up Program of the Year honors for the fifth time in a row since it was introduced during the 2008-09 academic year.


Rank Team Score
1 Oregon 5
2 Arizona 20
3 Arkansas 30
4 Iowa State 33
5 Florida 47.5

The USTFCCCA Program of the Year Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs in each of the NCAA’s three divisions and for each gender.  The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year — spanning the cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field seasons — based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

Finishing a distant second to the Ducks was Pac-12 rival Arizona at 20 points in the Program of the Year standings. The Wildcats’ finishes at NCAA Championships this academic year was a model of consistency, taking sixth at the cross country championships, seventh during the indoor season and sixth this past weekend at the outdoor championships.

This marks the third consecutive year the Pac-12 has taken the top two spots in the Program of the Year standings. Stanford finished runner-up a year ago, while Arizona was again the runner-up in 2010-11.

Arkansas checked in third with 30 points. The Razorbacks finished fourth at the indoor championships and eighth outdoors, but 18th during the cross country season.

Iowa State finished fourth in the standings with 33 points. The Cyclones finished 11th in cross country, ninth during the indoor season and 13th in Eugene this past weekend.

The Terry Crawford Women’s Program of the Year Award is named after USTFCCCA Hall of Famer and former Cal Poly head coach Terry Crawford.  Crawford has won five NCAA National Championships, and over 20 Conference Championships.  Her 1986 Texas squad remains as the only NCAA women’s program to ever win the Triple Crown (cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field titles).

Past Winners

2011-2012Oregon (1st), Stanford (2nd), Washington (3rd)
Oregon (1st), Arizona (2nd), Villanova (3rd)
Oregon (1st), Florida (2nd), Penn State (3rd)
2008-2009Oregon (1st), Florida State (2nd), Arizona State (3rd)