USTFCCCA Announces 2013 Division I Outdoor National Coaches of the Year
Award History
NCAA DI OTF National Coaches of the Year

USTFCCCA Announces 2013 Division I Outdoor National Coaches of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced that Florida’s Mike Holloway and Stanley Redwine of Kansas are the Division I Outdoor Track & Field National Coaches of the Year for 2013, while USC’s John Henry Johnson and Kansas’ Wayne Pate earned National Assistant Coach of the Year honors.

Holloway led his men’s squad to a share of the men’s team title for the second consecutive season and Redwine led the Jayhawks to their first track & field title in program history, indoors or out. Johnson’s student-athletes were instrumental in the Trojans’ fifth-place team finish, and Pate’s were the driving force behind Kansas’ women’s title.


Mike Holloway, Florida

Holloway, in his 11th year as the Gators’ coach, wins the award for the second consecutive outdoor season as he led the Gators to a co-National Championship with Texas A&M, marking the second season in a row his squad has claimed at least a share of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field team title. Florida claimed co-champion honors with 53 points, garnering the final crucial 10 in the 4×400 finale — not without a stroke of good fortune as the Gators won the event while Texas A&M, the top seed in the event with a nine-point lead in the team standings, dropped the baton on the first exchange and finished last.

Holloway’s Gators had put themselves in strong position to contend for the title leading up to that deciding event, with an individual title in the triple jump by defending champ Omar Craddock and another relay title in the 4×100 in a win at the line, along with a runner-up finish in the 110 hurdles by Eddie Lovett. Also scoring for the Gators were Armon Hall and Hugh Graham, Jr., at 400 meters in third and sixth, respectively, and Jeremy Postin in the hammer throw with a third-place showing.

Florida finished runner-up at the SEC Outdoor Championships.

Past Winners:
2013: Mike Holloway, Florida
2012: Mike Holloway, Florida
2011: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
2010: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
2009: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
2008: Bob Braman, Florida State
2007: Bob Braman, Florida State
2006: Bob Braman, Florida State



Stanley Redwine, Kansas

Redwine, in his 13th year at Kansas, has been awarded Women’s Coach of the Year honors for the first time in program history after guiding the Jayhawks to another program-first with a title at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships — their first title in women’s program history either indoors or outdoors. Behind a balanced team approach that saw the squad score points in nearly half of the contested events, Redwine and the Jayhawks scored 60 points to outpace runner-up Texas A&M by 16 points. The title is also the first by any women’s sports program at Kansas.

Lindsey Vollmer won the team’s lone event championship with an exciting victory in a historic heptathlon competition, but Redwine’s Jayhawks ended up with more than enough points with scoring performances in 10 different events. Andrea Geubelle finished runner-up in both the long jump and triple jump, while pole vaulter Natalia Bartnovskaya turned in a second-place showing of her own. Alena Krechuk finished third in the hammer throw. Paris Daniels was fourth at 200 meters, as was Jessica Maroszek in the discus. Daniels also contributed points as a member of the fifth-place 4×100 and sixth-place 4×400 teams, and Heather Bergmann was sixth in the javelin.

The Jayhawks won their first title not only at the national leve, but also at the conference level with a title at the Big 12 Outdoor Championships.

Past Winners:
2013: Stanley Redwine, Kansas
2012: Dennis Shaver, LSU
2011: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
2010: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
2009: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
2008: Dennis Shaver, LSU
2007: Greg Kraft, Arizona State
2006: Ralph Spry, Auburn



John Henry Johnson, USC

Johnson, in his 19th year coaching sprints at Southern California, was crucial to guiding the Trojans to a fifth-place team finish. As the sprints coach, Johnson guided The Bowerman hopeful and National Track Athlete of the Year Bryshon Nellum to a third-place showing at 200 meters, including the fastest all-conditions time by a collegian in 2013 at 19.99w in the prelims. Combined with Aaron Brown, who finished fifth at both 100 and 200 meters, the two sprinters at 100 and 200 meters combined for 14 of the Trojans’ 42 team points.

His student-athletes went 1-2-3 at 200 meters at the Pac-12 Championships, led by Nellum, and finished 1-2 at 100 meters.

Past Winners:
2013: John Henry Johnson, USC
2012: Ken Harnden, Florida State
2011: Dick Booth, Florida
2010: David Dumble, Arizona State
2009: Jim VanHootegem, Texas A&M
2008: Jerry Clayton, Auburn
2006: Paul Ereng, UTEP (distance)
Mario Santegna, Texas (jumps/combined events)
Scott Hall, Wake Forest (sprints/hurdles)
Greg Jack, Virginia Tech (throws)



Wayne Pate, Kansas

Pate has served as the Jayhawks’ jumps and heptathlon coach for the past six seasons and this year his student-athletes were a large part of the reason the Jayhawks finished the season as National Champions for the first time in program history and became the first women’s sports program at Kansas to win a national title. With an individual event title and two runner-up finishes by his student-athletes, Pate’s contingency delivered 26 of the Jayhawks’ 60 championship team points.

Lindsay Vollmer claimed the heptathlon title among the first field in NCAA Championships history to feature two 6000+ scorers, while Andrea Geubelle finished runner-up in both the long jump and the triple jump.

Pate’s student-athletes claimed three Big 12 titles with Geubelle winning the triple jump, Vollmer taking the heptathlon and Francine Simpson claiming the long jump as part of a 52-point contribution toward the team’s winning 158 points en route to the program’s first Big 12 title.

Past Winners:
2013: Wayne Pate, Kansas
2012: Wayne Pate, Kansas
2011: Craig Carter, Arizona
2010: Vince Anderson, Texas A&M
2009: Vince Anderson, Texas A&M
2008: Vince Anderson, Texas A&M