Updated USTFCCCA Program of the Year Standings

By Kyle Terwillegar, USTFCCCA

March 21, 2014   

NEW ORLEANS – The indoor track & field season has come to its conclusion with the NCAA Championships this past weekend, leaving only the outdoor season for consideration in the 2013-14 U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Program of the Year award races.

Leading the way with two third of the 2013-14 in the books are the Oregon men and women in Division I, the Adams State men and women in Division II and the UW-La Crosse men and Williams women in Division III.

CURRENT STANDINGS (PDF): Division I | Division II | Division III

The Program of the Year Awards are awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs.  The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field seasons) based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. first = one point, second = two points, etc.) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

Both the Oregon men and women hold narrow leads in their respective Division I standings after sweeping the Division I Indoor team titles this past weekend.

With six points, the Oregon men are just 3½ points ahead of Oklahoma State at 9½ and eight ahead of defending award winner Arkansas with 14 in the standings for the John McDonnell Men’s Division I Program of the Year Award.

The women’s 15 points are likewise 3½ points clear of second-place Stanford’s 18½, and just six better than third-place Arkansas’ 21 in the race for the Terry Crawford Women’s Division I Program of the Year Award.

The Ducks women have claimed each of the first five women’s awards, while the men claimed the first two men’s awards in 2008-09 and 2009-10.

Like Oregon in Division I, the Adams State men and women both sit atop the Division II Program of the Year standings with only the outdoor season remaining.

The Grizzlies’ men, who finished runners-up at the NCAA Division II Indoor Championships and were the cross country champions, have cumulative score of three points, with Grand Valley State just behind at eight.

After winning the indoor team championship, the Adams State women also have three points in the race for the Jerry Baltes Division II Women’s Program of the Year Award, just ahead of Baltes’ GVSU Lakers with five points.

The Adams State men have won the award in each of the five years it has been awarded, while a win for the ASU women would mark the first time GVSU has not claimed the award.

The frontrunners in the Division III race include the indoor champion UW-La Crosse men and the Williams women.

Looking to win the Al Carius Division III Men’s Program of the Year award for the second consecutive season, UW-La Crosse is the top team with four points, ahead of the North Central (Ill.) with nine points and UW-Eau Claire with 11.

Having finished runner-up for the Deb Vercauteren Division III Women’s Program of the Year Award last season and third the year before, Williams is in the driver’s seat to win in 2013-14 with seven-and-a-half points. Not far behind are MIT with 12 and Wartburg with 14.