Oregon Women Win 6th-Straight Terry Crawford Division I Women’s Program of the Year Award
Award History
NCAA DI wTFXC Program of the Year

Oregon Women Win 6th-Straight Terry Crawford Division I Women’s Program of the Year Award

NEW ORLEANS – For the sixth consecutive year, the Oregon women have claimed the Terry Crawford Division I Women’s Program of the Year Award, presented by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

DI Women’s Program of the Year Standings – Top 5

Rank Team Score
1 Oregon 18
2 Stanford 29½
3 Arkansas 30
4 Dartmouth 49
5 Iowa State 50½

Fresh off a third-place finish in front of their home crowd at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships, the Ducks will keep the Program of the Year trophy in Eugene for a sixth straight year since its inception during the 2008-09 season.

Oregon’s 18 points in the final Program of the Year standings were well clear of the runner-up 29½ points posted by Pac-12 rival Stanford, which just barely edged out third-place Arkansas at 30 points.

MORE INFO: Award History

The USTFCCCA Program of the Year Award is awarded annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs in each of the NCAA’s three divisions for each gender.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships.  Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Championship in cross country and both indoor and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, etc.) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

With their 59-point team score at the outdoor championships, the Ducks became the highest-scoring third-place team since the current eight-deep scoring system was first implemented in 1985.

Leading the way individually were sophomore Jenna Prandini with a long jump title to go along with a runner-up 200 meters showing and a third-place finish at 100 meters, and senior 800 meters champion Laura Roesler, who also ran a leg of the Ducks’ third-place 4×400 relay.

The Ducks’ third-place outdoor finish came after they won their fifth consecutive team title at the NCAA Division I Indoor Championships in Albuquerque, N.M., in March. That battle with Texas came down to the final step of the final event, the 4×400 relay, when Phyllis Francis edged Ashley Spencer at the finish line to claim the event win and clinch the team title, 44-43½.

Oregon finished 14th at the NCAA Cross Country Championships in Terre Haute, Ind., in November.

Stanford posted 11th-place finishes at both this past weekend’s NCAA Outdoor Championships and the NCAA Cross Country Championships, bookending a seventh-place team showing during the indoor championships.

Arkansas finished among the top ten at both the indoor and outdoor championships with sixth- and ninth-place results, respectively, to go along with a 15th-place finish during cross country.

Rounding out the top five were Dartmouth (49 points) and Iowa State (50½ points).

The Terry Crawford Women’s Program of the Year Award is named after USTFCCCA Hall of Famer and former Cal Poly head coach Terry Crawford.  Crawford has won five NCAA National Championships, and over 20 Conference Championships.  Her 1986 Texas squad remains as the only NCAA women’s program to ever win the Triple Crown (cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field titles).