2015 USTFCCCA Convention Set To Begin

2015 USTFCCCA Convention Set To Begin

SAN ANTONIO — The 2015 U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Convention is about to prove the old adage, "Everything is bigger in Texas."

A record number of college and high school coaches are expected to converge on the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort and Spa in San Antonio beginning Tuesday.

QUICK LINKS: Convention Schedule | Symposium Schedule | Hotel Information

This is the first time since 2011 that the Convention has been held in the Lone Star State. The 2010 Convention was held here as well, for which the USTFCCCA signed the first contract ever offered by the nearly six-year-old hotel.

So what’s in store for the more than 1,400 coaches signed up to attend the 2015 Convention?

For starters, they’ll attend two of the premier events in collegiate track & field: The Bowerman and the USTFCCCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

The Bowerman — named in honor of legendary Oregon coach and track & field innovator Bill Bowerman — will be awarded to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field student athletes (one from each gender) on Thursday, Dec. 17. Those not in attendance can watch the ceremony live on USTFCCCA.org beginning at 6:30 p.m. CT with the Red Carpet Show.

The men’s finalists this year are Akron pole vaulter Shawn Barber, Oregon distance runner Edward Cheserek and Florida horizontal jumper Marquis Dendy. On the women’s side, Kentucky hurdler Kendra Harrison, Stephen F. Austin pole vaulter Demi Payne and Oregon horizontal jumper/sprinter Jenna Prandini will vie for the award.

Two nights earlier on Tuesday, Dec. 15, six legendary coaches will be enshrined in the USTFCCCA Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees are Jim Bibbs (Michigan State), Barbara Crousen (McMurry), Bob Lewis (Frostburg State), Billy Maxwell (Tennessee, LSU, Texas, Nebraska), Don Strametz (Cal State Northridge) and Gary Wilson (Minnesota, UW-La Crosse).

In addition to those glamorous events, convention-goers will also gather for development sessions and seminars, legislative voting sessions and various networking events. Those symposiums, which are presented by Connor Sports, are broken down by discipline — endurance, jumps, sprints/hurdles/relays and throws.

During opening session on Wednesday, convention-goers will hear from NCAA Executive Vice President for Regulatory Affairs Oliver Luck. Priot to Luck’s speech, NCAA champions from the 2014-15 academic year will be presented with their championship rings, the National High School Coaches of the Year will be honored and the winner of the Jimmy Carnes Distinguished Service Award will be announced.

The 2014-15 USTFCCCA Program of the Year winners will be celebrated before the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, as will the recipient of the George Dales Award.

For more information on the 2015 USTFCCCA Convention, you can visit the official page.