WEEKEND PREVIEW: Virginia Challange, LSU Alumni Gold & More

WEEKEND PREVIEW: Virginia Challange, LSU Alumni Gold & More

As we stand about a month away from the end of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field regular season, athletes are starting to round into midseason form.

Strong fields at the Virginia Challenge and the LSU Alumni Gold take center stage this weekend, and we take a look at some of our most anticipated individual event match-ups from Charlottesville and Baton Rouge below.

Be sure to check out the full weekend schedule of meets – including big invitationals at Baylor, Kansas, Princeton and many more – and the full list of live webcasts.

Virginia Challenge – Men’s 1500

Saturday | 7:45pm ET | Live Results

NCAA Indoor Mile Champ Henry Wynne of Virginia hosts Syracuse’s Justyn Knight, Adam Palamar and Joel Hubbard, and Ole Miss’ Robert Domanic, Sean Tobin and Craig Engels. Wynne is the collegiate leader over this distance at 3:38.35, while Knight was one of the fastest milers of the indoor season at 3:56.87. Palamar was eighth in the mile indoors, while Domanic and Tobin were 1-2 in the SEC mile indoors.

LSU Alumni Gold – Women’s 100

Saturday | 3:40pm ET / 2:40pm CT | Live Results

SEC 60-meter champ Mikiah Brisco and her teammates Jada Martin and Aleia Hobbs square off with indoor 200-meter champ Felicia Brown of Tennessee, Morolake Akinosun of Texas, and former NCAA DII 200 meter champions Dezerea Bryant and 2012 Bowerman Winner Kimberlyn Duncan. At the NCAA Indoor Championships, Brisco was third at 60 meters, while Akinosun was fifth.

LSU Alumni Gold – Men’s 400

Saturday | 3pm ET / 2pm CT | Live Results

LSU’s formidable quarter-mile quartet of Michael Cherry, Lamar Bruton, Fitzroy Dunkley and Cyril Grayson hosts Texas’ Zach Bilderback and Aldrich Bailey, Jr.; Tennessee’s Nathan Strother and Mississippi State’s Alfred Larry. Bilderback was the NCAA indoor champion over this distance, just ahead of runner-up Strother, third-place Cherry and fifth-place Dunkley. Larry and Bailey were the first two men outside the NCAA finals qualifying bubble in 9th and 10th.

Virginia Challenge – Women’s Triple Jump Invitational

Friday | 4:30pm ET | Live Results

Georgia’s Keturah Orji, winner of the two most recent NCAA Championships, makes her 2016 outdoor debut against the woman who came closest to beating her this winter at the NCAA Indoor Championships – national indoor runner-up Simone Charley of Vanderbilt.

Stanford Twilight – Men’s 1500

Friday | 11:30pm ET / 8:30pm PT | Live Results | Watch Live (Flotrack Pro)

Grant Fisher and Sean McGorty of Stanford host a talented field including Penn State’s Brannon Kidder, David Elliot of Boise State, Oklahoma State’s Joshua Thompson and deep distance crews from Colorado and Georgetown. McGorty ran the second-fastest indoor mile of the season at 3:53.95, and Kidder has a career-best 3:38.82 over 1500 meters, run on this very track two years ago.