Price Joins May Edition of The Bowerman Women’s Watch List

NEW ORLEANS – It’s been a good year for DeAnna Price of Southern Illinois when it comes to lists.

The Southern Illinois senior has been revising the all-time collegiate hammer throw top-10 list from the moment she stepped in the ring for the first time this March, and now she’s part of another prestigious 10-woman list.

Price was the lone new addition to the May edition of the Watch List for The Bowerman – collegiate track & field’s highest individual honor – which was announced Wednesday afternoon by The Bowerman Watch List Committee.

The Bowerman Women’s Watch List
May 2016

(Click student-athletes’ names for biographies & notes)

Felicia Brown SR Tennessee Sprints Lithonia, Ga.
Akela Jones SR Kansas State Combined Events St. Michael, Barbados
Shamier Little JR Texas A&M Hurdles Chicago, Ill.
Cindy Ofili SR Michigan Hurdles Ypsilanti, Mich.
Courtney Okolo SR Texas Sprints Carrollton, Texas
Keturah Orji SO Georgia Jumps Mount Olive, N.J.
Demi Payne SR Stephen F. Austin Pole Vault New Braunfels, Texas
DeAnna Price SR Southern Illinois Throws Moscow Mills, Mo.
Raevyn Rogers SO Oregon Mid-Distance Houston, Texas
Kendell Williams JR Georgia Combined Events Marietta, Ga.
Also Receiving Votes: Kaela Edwards (Oklahoma State), Courtney Frerichs (New Mexico), Raven Saunders (Mississippi), Molly Siedel (Notre Dame)
NEXT: May 18


Fresh off a 72.66m (238-5) throw this weekend that made her the second-farthest thrower in collegiate history, Price’s historic heave is only the latest in what has been a parade through the record book. She now owns four of the nine farthest throws ever by a collegian, and has equaled or surpassed 230 feet (70.10m) 15 times; that’s the same number of 230-foot throws in the USTFCCCA archives from all of collegiate history prior to 2016.

Overall, she owns the 24 best throws of the 2016 collegiate season.

Price isn’t alone on this edition of the Watch List in stamping her name on the record books. Two women – Courtney Okolo of Texas and Keturah Orji of Georgia – made their outdoor debuts in their signature events to historic results.

Okolo, a finalist for The Bowerman in 2014, became the first-ever college woman to break the 50-second barrier over 400 meters during the NCAA season when she blistered the LSU track with a 49.71 performance. Not only is it the fastest time ever during the collegiate season, it’s also the fastest collegiate performance ever, regardless of calendar date.

Orji opened up in her specialty triple jump event with back-to-back marks of 14.11m (46-3½) and 14.10m (46-3¼) – in the reverse order – for the ninth- and 10th-farthest wind-legal marks in college history. She also joined college record-holder Kim Williams of Florida State as the only college women to leap 14.10m or farther twice in the same competition.

While the rest of the women didn’t necessarily make history in the short two weeks between this update and the April Watch List, all but one did enough to keep their spots. Felicia Brown of Tennessee, Akela Jones of Kansas State, Shamier Little of Texas A&M, Cindy Ofili of Michigan, Demi Payne of Stephen F. Austin, Raevyn Rogers of Oregon and Kendell Williams of Georgia all held steady on the list.

Only Molly Seidel of Notre Dame – the NCAA Indoor 3000- and 5000-meter champion who hasn’t yet debuted this outdoor campaign – fell outside the top-10.

She was joined in the “also receiving votes” category by Kaela Edwards of Oklahoma State, Courtney Frerichs of New Mexico and Raven Saunders of Mississippi.


The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation.

Oregon’s Jenna Prandini and Florida’s Marquis Dendy are the reigning winners of The Bowerman, which is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman.

Past winners include Olympic gold medalist, World Champion and decathlon world-record holder Ashton Eaton (2010), 10,000-meter Olympic silver medalist Galen Rupp (2009), 2011 IAAF World Champion at 1500 meters Jenny Simpson (2009), 2013 100-meter hurdles World Champion Brianna Rollins (2013) and 2015 World Champion high jumper Derek Drouin (2013).

In total, the winners from the award’s first five years have won four Olympic Medals, 10 World Championships (indoors and outdoors) and 19 World Championships medals. When considering finalists for the award, 18 individuals have earned a combined eight Olympic medals, 19 World Championship titles (indoors and outdoors) and 38 World Championships medals.

Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA’s predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.

For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit



The Bowerman Presentation Archive