LIVE TODAY: “TrackTown LIVE” Women’s Preview Show

LIVE TODAY: “TrackTown LIVE” Women’s Preview Show


NEW ORLEANS — For the third consecutive year, collegiate track & field fans can get to know the stars of theNCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships in a unique way.

Once again, the “TrackTown LIVE” preview webcast will emanate from Eugene, Oregon with a loaded roster of athletes and experts from RunnerSpace and FloTrack.

Fifteen athletes, who will compete for individual titles at the legendary Hayward Field from Wednesday, June 8 through Saturday, June 11 live on the ESPN family of broadcast platforms, will be joined by their coaches to be interviewed by co-hosts Jordan Kent and Paul Swangard on either Monday, June 6 and Tuesday, June 7.

You can get to know the men’s competitors on Monday from 3:30-5 p.m. PT and the women’s standouts on Tuesday from 5:15-6:15 p.m., right before the start of TrackTown Tuesday.

Here are the athletes scheduled to appear on TrackTown LIVE.

Male Athletes — Monday, June 6

  • Texas A&M’s Lindon Victor — Owns the fourth best decathlon score in collegiate history (8446).
  • Akron’s Phillip Jagers and Kent State’s Reginald Jagers — Brothers, who are ranked second and 12th nationally, respectively, in the discus and will compete against each other on Friday, June 10.
  • TCU’s Ronnie Baker — Two-time NCAA champion (2015-16 Indoor 60) and owner of the fastest 60-meter time in collegiate history not at altitude (third, if you include altitude marks).
  • Arizona’s Gerhard De Beer — Went from playing rugby to playing football and throwing the discus for the Wildcats, in which he is ranked 9th nationally.
  • Clemson’s Tevin Hester — ACC champion at 100 meters and one of the fastest men this season with a wind-aided time of 9.99.
  • Michigan’s Mason Ferlic — We all remember his steeplechase fall at NCAAs last year, but he bounced back in a big way and leads the nation by nearly five seconds in that event.
  • Virginia’s Henry Wynne — Indoor mile champion, who is currently ranked second at 1500 meters.

Female Athletes — Tuesday, June 7

  • Georgia’s Keturah Orji — Collegiate record holder in the triple jump (14.29m/46-10¾) and two-time national champion in that event.
  • Kansas State’s Akela Jones — Defending champion and collegiate leader in the heptathlon with 6307 points, which ranks her sixth all-time. She also has the fourth best mark in collegiate history at 6371 points. Indoor high jump champ.
  • Arkansas’ Dominique Scott-Efurd — Current collegiate leader at 5000 and 10000. Owns the seventh best mark at 10000 meters in collegiate history (31:56.84). Ninth fastest all-time at 3000 meters indoors (8:55.19).
  • Tennessee’s Felicia Brown — Current national leader at 200 meters with the 12th fastest time in collegiate history (22.26). Indoor 200-meter champion and Feature Friday subject.
  • Southern Illinois’ DeAnna Price — The defending champion and one of the most dominant collegiate athletes in the hammer throw with four of the top-10 marks in collegiate history.
  • Texas’ Courtney Okolo — Collegiate record holder at 400 meters (49.71). Also ran the second fastest time in collegiate history two years ago (50.03). Three-time individual NCAA champ.
  • Harvard’s Paige Kouba — Eugene native returning home for the final collegiate meet of her career. Ranked seventh nationally in the steeplechase (9:50.21).

The shows, which are a joint production of the USTFCCCA and TrackTown USA, will also be simulcast on, Flotrack and Runnerspace.

About the Hosts

Paul Swangard has been the lead public address announcer at historic Hayward Field for more than two decades, providing in-stadium commentary for University of Oregon home meets as well as previous NCAA Championships, the Prefontaine Classic, USATF national championships and the last three U.S. Olympic Track and Field Trials. In 2016, he will complete a “triple crown” by announcing the IAAF World Indoors in Portland, Oregon, the IAAF U20 Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland, and the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. In addition to his in-stadium announcing duties, Swangard also provides commentary for track and field broadcasts on NBC Sports Network and Away from the track, Swangard is the Chief Strategist for RunnerSpace, a Eugene-based digital media company. He also teaches sport business-related courses at the University of Oregon.

Kent was a standout three-sport letterman at the University of Oregon, competing in football, basketball and track & field. A 2007 NFL draftee by the Seattle Seahawks, Kent was also a four-time USTFCCCA All-American on the track as a member of the school-record and NCAA-scoring 4×100 and 4×400 relays for the Ducks. His broadcasting career includes three years as studio host at Comcast Sportsnet NW for a variety of shows, and he has served as an in-studio analyst for NCAA and NBA basketball, NCAA football and USA track and field.  

About the USTFCCCA

The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) is a non-profit professional organization representing cross country and track & field coaches of all levels. The organization represents over 9,000 coaching members encompassing 94% of all NCAA track & field programs (DI, DII, and DIII) and includes members representing the NAIA as well as a number of state high school coaches associations. The USTFCCCA serves as an advocate for cross country and track & field coaches, providing a leadership structure to assist the needs of a diverse membership, serving as a lobbyist for coaches’ interests, and working as a liaison between the various stakeholders in the sports of cross country and track & field.

About TrackTown USA

TrackTown USA, Inc. is a non-profit organization committed to setting a standard of excellence in the sports of track and field and running by hosting premier events, creating a supportive environment for elite athletic performances, improving facilities and inspiring the next generation of track and field athletes and fans. The company is responsible for organizing the 2014 IAAF World Junior Championships, the 2015 USA Track & Field Outdoor Championships, the 2016 IAAF World Indoor Championships,the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team Trials-Track & Field, and the 2021 IAAF World Championships.