Indiana Tech Sweeps 2017 Indoor T&F National Titles


JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. – Indiana Tech won both the men’s and women’s team titles at the 2017 NAIA Indoor Track & Field National Championships as the event came to a close Saturday evening at David E. Walker Track at Gentry Field in Johnson City.

The day marked the fourth all-time title for Indiana Tech’s men, with all four coming in the last four years. Indiana Tech’s women, after settling for the runner-up spot in three of the last four seasons, were victorious for the first time in school history.

“We’re a well-rounded team,” Indiana Tech head coach Doug Edgar said about his men’s team. “We’ve got throws; we’ve got some middle distance; we’ve got sprinters; we’ve got jumps. I think the way we’ve built our team has allowed us to do that. We’ve got a lot of guys who have developed from where they were in high school, and they’re scoring some big points for us now as juniors and seniors.”

Indiana Tech’s men had the 60-meter national champ individually in Kajavon Moore (6.71), and the Warriors provided a fitting finish to the event by defending their 4×400 relay title in the last event of the championships. They scored 118 points which was second most all-time and only seven points off the record of 125 set by Wayland Baptist in 1986. It marked the 10th time in NAIA history that a men’s team reached 100 points at one championship.

With victories on both the men’s and women’s sides, Indiana Tech became the first team to sweep the competition since former member Oklahoma Baptist did it in 2013.

On the women’s side, Indiana Tech scored 75 points and had two individual national champions in Brianna Woods and Sarah Dunmore. Woods won the 200 meters with a time of 24.59 while Dunmore defended her title in the 60 meters with a time of 7.54.

“I think this team was more just about a combination than one,” Edgar said about his women’s team. “We didn’t win a lot of events and it was just a lot of force. We had a girl who had a seven-way tie for eighth place and got .14 points, but it just added up over the weekend and gave us a shot to win.”

While Indiana Tech’s women received their first team title in program history, several athletes earned their school’s first individual title in program history.

Tyanna Petty won the first individual national title for Rio Grande (Ohio) by winning the high jump with a leap of 1.77 meters. Jenny Moody did the same for St. Francis (Ill.) with a national title in the women’s 400 meter, covering the course in 55.72. Ellie Willging provided Saint Xavier its first national title with a victory in the 5000 meters with a time of 17:01.94.

Oklahoma City took the national runner-up in team standings on the women’s side with 59 points, despite entering the weekend without an individual national title in its history. Aminat Olowora, who was selected as the Women’s Most Valuable Performer, helped the Stars pick up four titles as she won the mile (4:48.01), the 3000 meters (9:46.78), and helped Oklahoma City in the 4×800 relay (Friday) and distance medley relay (11:51.57). Olowora provided one of the most exciting finishes by out-kicking nearly the entire field in the mile. Her four individual national titles matched Akela Jones of Oklahoma Baptist (60m hurdles, HJ, LJ, pentathlon in 2014) for the most individual national titles at one national championship.