The 2017 USTFCCCA Convention Begins Today

PHOENIX – The USTFCCCA Convention is bigger than ever.

More than 1700 cross country and track & field coaches registered for the 2017 USTFCCCA Convention, which is set to begin this morning at the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa.

QUICK LINKS: Convention Website | Convention Schedule

This is the first time since 2014 that the USTFCCCA Convention returned to the Grand Canyon State. Back then we had more than 1300 coaches in attendance, which means it has grown by more than 400 coaches in the past three years.

That’s not by mistake either.

The USTFCCCA Convention has become the annual go-to spot for important business meetings, professional development and special events you can’t get anywhere else.

On Wednesday, six coaches will be inducted into the USTFCCCA Coaches Hall of Fame: Amy Deem (Miami (Fla.)), Pete Farwell (Williams), Jack Hazen (Malone), Bob Kersee (Cal State Northridge and UCLA), Fred Samara (Princeton) and Patrick Shane (BYU). Five of those coaches have spent their entire careers with the same program and all six have more than 25 years of coaching experience to go along with countless accolades.

The Bowerman Presentation takes place two days later and that’s when we’ll find out the winners of collegiate track & field’s highest honor. The men’s finalists are Christian Coleman, Fred Kerley and Lindon Victor, while the women’s finalists are Maggie Ewen, Keturah Orji and Raevyn Rogers.

Both of those events will be broadcast on Facebook Live, while The Bowerman Red Carpet Show and The Bowerman Presentation will also be shown on FloTrack.

Throughout the week coaches can also check out 32 technical symposiums, which are presented by REKORTAN this year. Eight seminars will be held in each of the four disciplines: endurance, jumps, sprints/hurdles/relays and throws.

And The Bowerman isn’t the only award being handed out in Phoenix. The 2016-17 USTFCCCA Program of the Year winners will be honored, as will the recipients of the George Dales Award and the Jimmy Carnes Distinguished Service Award, among others.

Be sure to check back throughout the week for more dispatches from the 2017 USTFCCCA Convention, which runs through Friday.

More Convention News & Updates

January 2, 2018 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Technical Symposium Materials

December 15, 2017 - Christian Coleman Wins The Bowerman In 2017

December 15, 2017 - Raevyn Rogers Wins The Bowerman In 2017

December 15, 2017 - The Bowerman: FAQ About Tonight’s Festivities

December 14, 2017 - The Bowerman: What’s At Stake In 2017

December 14, 2017 - 2017 USTFCCCA Coaches Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

December 13, 2017 - CONVENTION: Harry Marra Wins George Dales Award

December 13, 2017 - Watch LIVE – 2017 USTFCCCA Coaches Hall of Fame Induction

December 13, 2017 - CONVENTION: Gary Schwartz Wins Jimmy Carnes Award

December 13, 2017 - Watch LIVE – 2017 USTFCCCA Convention Opening Session

December 12, 2017 - CONVENTION: Women In Coaching Panel Flourishes

December 12, 2017 - Accusplit Honors Top Relay Teams From 2017

December 12, 2017 - The 2017 USTFCCCA Convention Begins Today

December 11, 2017 - The Bowerman: Former Winners Stand Out Internationally

December 8, 2017 - The Bowerman: Recapping The Women’s Finalists In 2017

December 8, 2017 - The Bowerman: Recapping The Men’s Finalists In 2017

December 6, 2017 - The Bowerman: Through The Years

December 4, 2017 - The Bowerman Blueprint: Creating The Award

December 4, 2017 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Visit Our Supporters In Phoenix

December 1, 2017 - The Bowerman Presentation Returns To Phoenix

November 27, 2017 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Last Chance For Early Registration

November 13, 2017 - Jim Oberhofer To Deliver Keynote At USTFCCCA Convention

November 6, 2017 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Early Registration Deadline Approaching

October 30, 2017 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Closer Look At Endurance Symposiums

October 23, 2017 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Closer Look At The Sprints/Hurdles/Relays Symposiums

The Bowerman 2018 - Finalists Fan Voting


The online fan vote will close Thursday, June 28 at 10:00 p.m., Eastern.