The Bowerman Presentation Returns To Phoenix

The USTFCCCA Convention returns to the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa in Phoenix, Arizona for the first time since 2014 on December 12-15.

This will be the third time that the USTFCCCA Convention has been held in the Grand Canyon State, as it also made a stop there six years earlier.

A major difference between 2008 and 2014, though, was that back in 2008, we didn’t have The Bowerman to hand out yet. That’s because collegiate track & field’s highest honor didn’t debut until 2009 when Jenny Barringer and Galen Rupp won the inaugural awards.

QUICK LINKS: The Bowerman Website | Inception of The Bowerman

Fast forward six years.

Former Oregon star Laura Roesler and former Texas A&M standout Deon Lendore were the 11th and 12th recipients of The Bowerman, respectively. Roesler became the first female Duck to bring The Bowerman back to Eugene, Oregon (Rupp and Ashton Eaton won before her), while Lendore nabbed the first male honor for Texas A&M (Jessica Beard won in 2011).

Three of those six athletes return for The Bowerman Presentation on Friday, December 15, which can be seen in full on FloTrack and Facebook Live: Beard, Eaton and Lendore.

There are a few similarities between the 2017 installment and the one three years earlier.

Athletes from Oregon and Texas A&M have an opportunity to add to their program’s legacy.

Raevyn Rogers, who won two individual titles for the Ducks in 2017 and set a collegiate record in the 800, is one of three finalists for the women’s award. Rogers will be flanked by Arizona State’s Maggie Ewen and Georgia’s Keturah Orji. Ewen broke the collegiate record in the hammer and scored 21 points outdoors at NCAAs, while Orji shattered the American and collegiate indoor triple jump standards and tallied 34 combined points at NCAA meets.

Fred Kerley and Lindon Victor give the Aggies two out of three chances to win The Bowerman. Kerley dominated the quarter mile in 2017 as he won both open titles, aided the sweep of the relay crowns and broke several collegiate records throughout the year. Victor set the collegiate decathlon record twice this past spring and owns three all-time top-10 marks.

Christian Coleman is the third finalist for the men’s award. Coleman became the first man to sweep the short sprint titles since Justin Gatlin in 2002, shattered the collegiate outdoor record in the 100 and tied the collegiate indoor record in the 60.

With all three male finalists from the SEC, it’s assured that the conference’s streak of The Bowerman winners will continue. The SEC has won the past three men’s awards, starting with Lendore and followed by Florida’s Marquis Dendy in 2015 and Arkansas’ Jarrion Lawson in 2016.

You can see the pageantry of The Bowerman Red Carpet Show and find out who wins collegiate track & field’s highest honor on December 15 when it’s all broadcast on FloTrack and Facebook Live.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive