Feature Friday: 2008 & The Collegiate Indoor Record Book

It’s been 10 years since the 2008 indoor track & field campaign, but what happened between December and March of that year still reverberates through the collegiate indoor record book.

Three collegiate records fell in 2008, all of which still stand today. If you count up all of the years that current collegiate indoor records were set, 2008 would be tied for third-most set during one season, trailing 2017 (nine), 2015 (five) and in a tie with 2016.

FROM THE INFOZONE: Indoor Collegiate All-Time Best Lists

The fun started on February 16 at the Tyson Invitational when the Texas quartet of Kyle Miller, Danzell Fortson, Jacob Hernandez and Leo Manzano toppled the men’s distance medley relay standard. Miller led things off with a 2:54.11 leg, followed by Fortson’s 46.90 and Hernandez’s 1:47.00, and then Manzano clocked an anchor leg of 3:57.96 to give them a time of 9:25.97. That bested the previous record set by Michigan in 2004 by nearly two seconds.

Less than one month later at the 2008 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships, two more current collegiate records were established.

Bianca Knight, another Texas standout, slid under the 200-meter record previously held by Arkansas’ Veronica Campbell. Knight crossed the finish line with a title-winning time of 22.40 compared to Campbell’s standard of 22.43 set in 2004. We almost saw Knight’s record fall last year on two separate occasions, but former Oregon star Deajah Stevens was disqualified when she ran 22.28 in the NCAA prelims due to a lane violation and current Duck Ariana Washington breezed to the NCAA title in 22.42.

Ryan Whiting of Arizona State then took down one of the longest standing collegiate indoor records at the time. Whiting heaved the shot 21.73m (71-3½) to shatter Randy Matson’s previous mark of 21.53m (70-7½), which was etched into the record book a whopping 41 years earlier.

And as if this article didn’t already appear to be looking through burnt-orange glasses already, guess who tied Whiting’s record eight years later. That’s right: Texas’ Ryan Crouser.

What will we be talking about 10 years down the road in 2028? It’s time to find out.