Award History
NAIA XC All-Academic Athletes

2017 NAIA Cross Country Individual All-Academic Awards

NEW ORLEANSOregon Tech’s Mark French and Cindy Reed weren’t just outstanding on the course and in the classroom this past season. They made history.

The duo were named the NAIA Male and Female Scholar Athletes of the Year, announced the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA), marking the first such honors for the NAIA.

A total of 170 athletes – 103 women and 67 men – earned the honors, while 23 of those athletes posted a perfect 4.00 grade point average.

The individual All-Academic honor was awarded to those athletes who have compiled a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.25 in addition to competing at the NAIA Cross Country Championships.

French finished eighth at the NAIA Cross Country National Championships in Vancouver, Washington, with a time of 24:48. He kicked off his season with a victory at the Humboldt Invite on Sept. 9, one of his four top-10 finishes on the season prior to the championship meet.

The sophomore from Tualatin, Oregon, placed fifth at the Cascade Collegiate Cross Country Championships.

Reed notched a sixth-place finish at the championship meet, recording a 17:39. Reed’s top finish on the year came at the Cascade Collegiate Cross Country Championships, where she finished fourth.

During the 2017 campaign, the junior out of Klamath Falls, Oregon, finished in the top-10 in five of her six meets.

The full list of student-athletes honored by the USTFCCCA can be found below.


Athlete Name Institution
Arik LaFave Aquinas
Gannon Foley Aquinas
Grayson Harding Aquinas
Luke Simonds Aquinas
Joseph Linder Baker
Liam Barnsby Baker
Bret Crawford Campbellsville
Layne Ryerson Carroll
Tommy Skosky Columbia (Mo.)
Seth Schenk Columbia (Mo.)
Alex Thompson Columbia (Mo.)
Doug Hollett Cornerstone
Zachry Feldpausch Cornerstone
Nathan Silvey Cornerstone
Max Cruse Dakota State
Kyle Miller Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Grady Kerst Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Austin Luttrell Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Isaac Sprague Friends
Anthony Frank Indiana Tech
Kudzanai Karawira Indiana Tech
Christian Corrion Indiana Tech
Joshua Neideck Indiana Wesleyan
Christian Cuevas Indiana Wesleyan
Jared Williams Indiana Wesleyan
Landon Miller Indiana Wesleyan
Karl Lundgren Lewis-Clark State
Cole Olson Lewis-Clark State
Seth Deal Lewis-Clark State
Thomas Weakland Lewis-Clark State
Riley Sine Northwest
Kyle Cole Northwest
Brian Guisinger Northwest
Craig Lambert Northwest
David Walling Northwest
Hans Epp Northwestern (Iowa)
Tyler Gabriele Olivet Nazarene
Wesley Meyer Olivet Nazarene
Zachary Hulliberger Olivet Nazarene
Zachariah Bishop Olivet Nazarene
Mark French Oregon Tech
Tim McPherson Oregon Tech
Jack Roberts Oregon Tech
Paul Wyatt Oregon Tech
Henry Bingham Oregon Tech
Andrew Moczygemba Our Lady of the Lake
Miguel Segura Our Lady of the Lake
Christian Skinner Park (Mo.)
William Henry Park (Mo.)
Chris Hunt Point Park
Bradley Calleja Point Park
Gabriel Esparza Saint Xavier
Jack Evans Soka
Jersey Boydstun Southwestern
Rane Nichols St. Ambrose
Cameron Knudsen St. Francis (Ill.)
Zachary Hoover St. Francis (Ill.)
Joel O’shea St. Francis (Ill.)
Matthew Wilson St. Francis (Ill.)
Jonas Simon Tennessee Wesleyan
Skyler Mikesell The Master’s
Joshua Nunez The Master’s
Alec Franco The Master’s
Wesley Methum The Master’s
Justin Harris The Master’s
Eric Villagrana Wayland Baptist University
Jacob Gouldie Wayland Baptist University



Athlete Name Institution
Meghan Rasch Aquinas
Adri Sigafoose Aquinas
Janie Noah Aquinas
Alexis Miller Aquinas
Melissa Winchester Aquinas
Leanne McWain Aquinas
Teal Bullick Carroll
Janie Reid Carroll
Kaitlin Stromberg Carroll
Brigid Bradshaw Carroll
Elly Machado Carroll
Lisa Sauter Central Methodist
Pia Von Keutz Columbia (Mo.)
Riley Fader Columbia (Mo.)
Kelli Smith Cornerstone
Alexis McConnell Cornerstone
Sarah Van Wyk Dordt
Keili Dorn Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Keili Dorn Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Emma Lewis Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Sarrah Boughan Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Jessica Embro Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Joy Fucella Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Christa Follette Friends
Nicole Ballard Friends
Grace Camp Friends
Kinsey McBeath Indiana Wesleyan
Erin Couwenhoven Indiana Wesleyan
Caitlyn Chastain Indiana Wesleyan
Becca Groh Indiana Wesleyan
Ashley Toschlog IU East (Ind.)
Jessie VonBargen Lewis-Clark State
Evelin Lopez Lewis-Clark State
Emily Adams Lewis-Clark State
Lydia Wilson Montreat
Sarah Estabrook Northwest
Amberly Melendez Northwest
Lily Engelbrekt Northwest
Cassidy Brown Northwest
Quinn Dhaenens Northwest
Sarah Lunn Northwestern (Iowa)
Katie Bosch Northwestern (Iowa)
Karalynn Brock Olivet Nazarene
Alexa Beezhold Olivet Nazarene
Danielle De Csstro Oregon Tech
Jaime Evers Oregon Tech
Annika Andersen Oregon Tech
Mallory Ward Oregon Tech
Heather Kristoff Oregon Tech
Cindy Reed Oregon Tech
Susie Garza Oregon Tech
Ione Rodriguez Our Lady of the Lake
Andrea Gandara Our Lady of the Lake
Abby O’Connell Point Park
Kylie Archibeque Point Park
Kara Rohlf Point Park
Anna Shield Point Park
Alyssa Boyd Point Park
Kayla Roberts Point Park
Linden Amundsen Soka
Miranda Almeida Soka
Kelsi Ogilvie Southeastern (Fla.)
Julia Kaster Southeastern (Fla.)
Macy Peterson Southeastern (Fla.)
Megan Fitzgerald Southeastern (Fla.)
Sydni Ogilvie Southeastern (Fla.)
Raeanna Pabon Southeastern (Fla.)
Kristen Robinson Southeastern (Fla.)
Ashley Smith Southwestern
Justine Vogele Southwestern
Victoria Harper Spring Arbor
Megan Grady St. Ambrose
Ashley Plumb St. Ambrose
Jennifer Dickes St. Ambrose
Chloe Gunn St. Ambrose
Abby Sears St. Ambrose
Karyn Paisley St. Ambrose
Keeley Knobloch St. Ambrose
Sabrina Baftiri St. Francis (Ill.)
Veronica Navarrete St. Francis (Ill.)
Taylor Conroy St. Francis (Ill.)
Espinoza Celine St. Francis (Ill.)
Laisha Corona St. Francis (Ill.)
Mae Elizabeth Gimre Taylor
Taylor Bluemel Taylor
Alexandra Berends Taylor
Rachel Blagg Taylor
Olivia Schroder Taylor
Naomi Noyes Taylor
Sarah Harden Taylor
Hannah Rhodes Tennessee Wesleyan
Emily Bodine The Master’s
Rachelle Nelson The Master’s
Abigail Frankian The Master’s
Mikala Fairchild The Master’s
Megan DeWeerd Trinity Christian
April Van Ryn Trinity Christian
Haley Swanson Viterbo University
Silvia Sosa Wayland Baptist University
Tiffany Cano Wayland Baptist University
Janna Jensen Westmont College
Nadine Lara Westmont College
Brianna Pace Xavier University of Louisiana