Grand Valley State, Adams State Named USTFCCCA NCAA DII Programs of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – With the NCAA Division II Outdoor Track & Field season at its end, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Wednesday the winners of the Damon Martin Men’s Program of the Year and Jerry Baltes Women’s Program of the Year awards for the 2017-18 NCAA Division II season.

In what will appear to be a reverse of what has been the norm, Grand Valley State captured its first-ever Damon Martin Division II Men’s Program of the Year Award, while Adams State took home the Jerry Baltes Division II Women’s Program of the Year honor.

QUICK LINK: USTFCCCA Programs of the Year History

Final NCAA Division II Program of the Year Standings

Men’s Team Pts Women’s Team Pts
1. Grand Valley State 13.5 1. Adams State 11.5
2. Adams State 17.5 2. Grand Valley State 18
3. Colorado Mines 25.5 3. Western State 19.5
4. CSU-Pueblo 28.5 4. Alaska Anchorage 32.5
5. Western Oregon 41 5. Pittsburg State 36.5

The Lakers finished with a mere 13.5 points after a fifth-place finish in Charlotte, North Carolina, this past weekend. After a runner-up finish at the NCAA Division II Cross Country Championships, as well as a sixth-place tie during the indoor season, Jerry Baltes’ team leapfrogged Adams State for the award.

This marks the first Damon Martin Division II Men’s Program of the Year Award for any school other than Adams State, as the Grizzlies have won each year since the award’s inception during the 2008-09 season.

The women of Adams State, however, are bringing home their second Jerry Baltes Division II Women’s Program of the Year Award after a fifth-place finish at the NCAA Division II Outdoor Championships. They led in the standings heading into the meet with one point from the cross country season and five and a half points from the indoor track & field season, giving them a total of 11.5 when it was all said and done.

Coaches from both Grand Valley State and Adams State will be honored in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

The USTFCCCA Program of the Year Award is bestowed annually to the most outstanding cross country/track & field programs in each of the NCAA’s three divisions and for each gender. The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field seasons) based on the institution’s finish at the NCAA Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA Championships. Scoring is based on the team’s finish at each NCAA Championship in cross country, indoor track & field, and outdoor track & field (i.e. 1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, 31st = 31 points) with the lowest total score for all three championships combined determining the award recipient. Ties among schools split points for positions taken.

The Adams State men finished second in the standings with 17.5 points, followed by Colorado Mines (25.5), CSU-Pueblo (28.5) and Western Oregon (41).

Over in the women’s standings, Grand Valley State finished second with 18 with Western State (19.5), Alaska Anchorage (32.5) and Pittsburg State (36.5) rounding out the top-five.

The Bowerman 2018 - Finalists Fan Voting


The online fan vote will close Thursday, June 28 at 10:00 p.m., Eastern.