Award History
NAIA wTF All-Academic Athletes

All-Academic Individuals & Scholar Athletes of the Year – 2018 NAIA Women’s Track & Field

NEW ORLEANSAnna Shields of Point Park (Pa.), Samantha Liermann of Concordia (Neb.) and Adrianna Shaw of Concordia (Neb.) were named the Women’s Scholar Athletes of the Year in NAIA Track & Field on Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Combining their accomplishments in the classroom and in competition during the recently completed academic year, these four women were the most exceptional among a group of 126 women who earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors.

Scholar Athletes of the Year were selected as the highest finishing performers at the 2018 NAIA Indoor and Outdoor Track & Field Championships who achieved All-Academic status. Those athletes who won individual NCAA titles ranked higher in the tie-breaking process and cumulative GPA is weighed as the final advantage.

Separate awards are given to track athletes and field athletes for the indoor and outdoor seasons, hence the four categories.

Shields, a junior who majors in English with a GPA of 3.72, was named the Women’s Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year and the Women’s Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year. The native of Torrington, Connecticut, starred during the NAIA Indoor and Outdoor Championships. Shields captured individual titles in the 1000 and mile during the indoor meet and won the 800 and 1500 outdoors.

Liermann, a graduated senior who majored in Recreation and Sports Studies with a GPA of 3.99, was named the Women’s Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year. The native of Wisner, Nebraska, won the indoor shot put crown with a heave of 15.06m (49-5).

Shaw, a sophomore who majors in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) with a GPA of 3.42, was named the Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year. The native of Bassett, Nebraska, won the discus title with a heave of 47.04m (154-4).

All-Academic Individuals

Including the Scholar Athletes of the Year, a total of 126 men earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors during the 2017-18 track & field seasons.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic honors, the student-athlete must meet all three of the following standards:

    1. Cumulative GPA: 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale, including the most recent grading period, certifiable by either Faculty Rep or Compliance Coordinator or Registrar’s Office.

      1. Institutions utilizing a different GPA scale must convert the GPA to a 4.0 scale using the standard conversion method [GPA/Scale x 4.0].

    2. Athletic criteria for the award can be met in either the indoor season, the outdoor season, or both:

      1. For the indoor season: must have achieved an “A” or “B” standard in a Championship event, certifiable by their place on the NAIA descending order lists on TFRRS for Indoor Track and Field.

      2. For the outdoor season: must have achieved an “A” or “B” standard in a Championship event, certifiable by their place on the NAIA descending order lists on TFRRS for Outdoor Track and Field.

    3. Must have completed at least two (2) semesters or three (3) quarters at the certifying institution.

2018 USTFCCCA All-Academic Individuals – NAIA Women’s Track & Field

Name Institution
Bragg Kayvona Avila University
Erica Esch Baker University
Erica Esch Baker University
Gloria Mares Baker University
Brenda McCollum Baker University
Morgan Thomas Baker University
Pearl Morgan Central Methodist University
Mikayla Houston Clarke University
Breanna Judkins Clarke University
Grace Young Columbia College
Tori Beran Concordia University, Nebraska
Jessica Deterding Concordia University, Nebraska
McKenzie Gravo Concordia University, Nebraska
Taylor Grove Concordia University, Nebraska
Samantha Liermann Concordia University, Nebraska
Johanna Ragland Concordia University, Nebraska
Miranda Rathjen Concordia University, Nebraska
Adrianna Shaw Concordia University, Nebraska
Bethany Shaw Concordia University, Nebraska
Carley Skorepa Concordia University, Nebraska
Jan Steinbrueck Concordia University, Nebraska
Shay Brown Doane University
Amanda Cook Doane University
Ashley Cook Doane University
Alyssa Downs Doane University
Kaitlyn Drake Doane University
Kate Grint Doane University
Emily Harsin Doane University
Maegan Hiatt Doane University
Jaysa Hoins Doane University
Michaela Jurjens Doane University
Courtney Schindler Doane University
Claire Sintek Doane University
Maitlyn Thomsen Doane University
Nicole White Doane University
Taleah Williams Doane University
Jordan Bos Dordt College
Audrey Brooks Dordt College
Hailey Pullman Dordt College
Nicole Slater Dordt College
Jenna Stephens Dordt College
Sarah Van Wyk Dordt College
Joscelyn Wind Dordt College
Danielle Wubben Dordt College
Rachel Roelle Eastern Oregon University
Ronnoja Ayers Grand View University
Chantel Blair Grand View University
LaVon Davis Grand View University
LaVon Davis Grand View University
Allie Flaws Grand View University
Allie Flaws Grand View University
Dimetrea Hamilton Grand View University
Kennedy King Grand View University
Anali CIsneros Judson University
Nayeli Cisneros Judson University
Jennifer Donnell Judson University
Mattie Brouwers Lewis-Clark State College
Jennifer Sapp Lewis-Clark State College
Rebecca Saxton Lewis-Clark State College
Delaney Warren Lewis-Clark State College
Ansley Little Missouri Baptist University
Megan McCrary Missouri Baptist University
Faith Reynolds Missouri Baptist University
Rebecca Starrett Missouri Baptist University
Lydia Wilson Montreat College
Vanessa Cortes Mount Mercy University
Rachel Gadient Mount Mercy University
Katie Hoffert Mount Mercy University
McKenna Johnson Mount Mercy University
Mady Roth Mount Mercy University
Kathryn Vander Poel Mount Mercy University
Alexa Zamora Mount Mercy University
Sarah Estabrook Northwest University
Anna Miller Northwest University
Katie Bosch Northwestern College
Kassidy De Jong Northwestern College
Breanna Harthoorn Northwestern College
Katie Landhuis Northwestern College
Sarah Lunn Northwestern College
Rebekah Muilenburg Northwestern College
Brooke Cassar Oklahoma City University
Sheridan Hoyer Oklahoma City University
Delaney Mayo Oklahoma City University
Annika Andersen Oregon Institute of Technology
Nishi Chase Oregon Institute of Technology
Susie Garza Oregon Institute of Technology
Mikaela Romain Our Lady of the Lake University
Reba Bartram Point Park University
Alyssa Boyd Point Park University
Olukemi Olugbakinro Point Park University
Anna Shields Point Park University
Caroline Cook Savannah College of Art and Design
Hannah Sharp Savannah College of Art and Design
Emily Kearney SCAD Atlanta
Maddie Mullen SCAD Atlanta
Julia Kaster Southeastern University
Kelsi Ogilvie Southeastern University
Megan Fitzgerald Southeastern Unviersity
Megan Milch Southwestern College
Taylor Needham Southwestern College
Justine Vogele Southwestern College
Emily Kemling Tabor College
Alexandra Berends Taylor University
Rachel Blagg Taylor University
Taylor Bluemel Taylor University
Michelle Franch Taylor University
Mae Elizabeth Gimre Taylor University
Sarah Harden Taylor University
Brianna Jordahl Taylor University
Olivia Schroder Taylor University
Anna Souzis Taylor University
Rachel Lawhorn Tennessee Wesleyan University
April Van Ryn Trinity Christian College
Kaiann Arellano University of Jamestown
Hannah Christenson University of Jamestown
Allie Foster University of Jamestown
Paulina Haak University of Jamestown
Julia Johnson University of Jamestown
Emily Stier University of Jamestown
Kylee Voigt University of Jamestown
Billie Shelton University of Mobile
Mariah Stein University of Saint Mary
Kaitlynn Tuey University of Saint Mary
Tiffany Cano Wayland Baptist University
Silvia Sosa-Valles Wayland Baptist University
Ja’Ianna Williams Wayland Baptist University