2018 NAIA Cross Country Team Academic Awards

NEW ORLEANS – Can you name the teams that excelled the most both in the classroom and on the cross country course during the 2018 NAIA Cross Country season?

If you picked the national champions, then you’re in good shape.

The men of Oklahoma City and the women of Oregon Tech were named the NAIA Cross Country Scholar Team of the Year on Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

A total of 68 teams earned All-Academic honors by posting a cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Of those 68 teams, 39 were women’s and 29 were men’s.

Oklahoma City took home the men’s team title at the NAIA Championships by scoring 116 points, 27 fewer than runner-up Indiana Wesleyan. The Stars were led by Max McNeill and Oscar KipKoros, who both finished in the top-10 at ninth and 10th, respectively.

Oregon Tech came out on top of a three-team race for the women’s title. The Owls scored 125 points, seven fewer than runner-up Madonna (Mich.) and nine fewer than third-place Taylor (Ind.). Susie Garza and Cindy Reed proved to be the difference makers up front as they finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

The women from Columbia College in Missouri had the best GPA out of any team, tipping the scale at a perfect 4.0. Concordia (Neb.)‘s men had the best GPA out of their gender at 3.64.

See below for a full list of teams honored by the USTFCCCA.

2018 NAIA Cross Country – All-Academic Teams

GenderInstitutionGPAHead Coach
MENAquinas3.11Mike Wojciakowski
MENBaker3.02Tim Byers
MENBenedictine3.12Henry Brun
MENBethel College (Kan.)3.29Jeff Hoskisson
MENCampbellsville3.16Hilary Lakes
MENThe College of Idaho3.2Austin Basterrechea
MENColumbia College (Mo.)3.17Tracy Jex
MENConcordia University (Neb.)3.61Matt Beisel
MENDakota State3.34Anthony Drealan
MENDordt3.5Nathan Wolf
MENEmbry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Ariz.)3.25Chris Bray
MENGrace 3.36Jeff Raymond
MENLawrence Tech3.41Eric Green
MENLewis-Clark State3.39Dr. Michael G. Collins
MENMidland3.29Erich Whitemore
MENMilligan3.23Chris Layne
MENMount Mercy3.27Jamie Jimison
MENOklahoma City University3.31Matt Aguero
MENOlivet Nazarene3.35Mike McDowell
MENOregon Institute of Technology3.52Jack Kegg
MENPoint Park3.15Kelly Parsley
MENProvidence (Great Falls)3.41Bill Brist
MENReinhardt3.46Jordan Turner
MENSt. Francis3.05Jeffery Barker
MENTaylor3.55Lance Vanderberg
MENTennessee Wesleyan University3.24Sam Roberts
MENTrinity Christian3.17Bob Brickman
MENWayland Baptist3.31Brian Whitlock
MENWilliam Jessup3.35Collin Christianson
WOMENAquinas3.42Mike Wojciakowski
WOMENBaker3.34Tim Byers
WOMENBenedictine3.41Henry Brun
WOMENBethel College (Kan.)3.6Jeff Hoskisson
WOMENCampbellsville3.12Hilary Lakes
WOMENCentral Methodist3.52Mark Nelson
WOMENThe College of Idaho3.39Austin Basterrechea
WOMENColumbia College (Mo.)4Tracy Jex
WOMENConcordia University (Neb.)3.64Matt Beisel
WOMENDakota State3.25Anthony Drealan
WOMENDordt3.59Nathan Wolf
WOMENEmbry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Ariz.)3.62Chris Bray
WOMENGrace 3.69Jeff Raymond
WOMENIndiana Institute of Technology3.55Josh Wolfe
WOMENLawrence Tech3.69E
WOMENLewis-Clark State3.55Dr. Michael G. Collins
WOMENLyon3.2Adam Trausch
WOMENMidAmerica Nazarene3.52Kevin O'Grattan
WOMENMidland3.47Erich Whitemore
WOMENMilligan3.45Chris Layne
WOMENMobile3.13Andy Canegitta
WOMENMount Mercy3.49Jamie Jimison
WOMENOklahoma City University3.45Matt Aguero
WOMENOlivet Nazarene3.41Mike McDowell
WOMENOregon Institute of Technology3.67Jack Kegg
WOMENPoint Park3.23Kelly Parsley
WOMENProvidence (Great Falls)3.48Bill Brist
WOMENReinhardt3.51Jordan Turner
WOMENSCAD Savannah3.74Patrick Reagan
WOMENSoutheastern3.5Paul Kurtz
WOMENSt. Ambrose3.65Dan Zeimet
WOMENSt. Francis3.07Jeffery Barker
WOMENTaylor3.72Quinn White
WOMENTennessee Wesleyan University3.16Sam Roberts
WOMENTrinity Christian3.52Bob Brickman
WOMENValley City State3.12Daniel Scheff
WOMENWayland Baptist3.16Brian Whitlock
WOMENWilliam Jessup3.78Collin Christianson
WOMENWilliam Penn3.02Sean Gosewisch