The Bowerman: Men’s Finalists Break Fan Vote Record

FRIDAY UPDATE: The record was absolutely SMASHED as we had 53,371 votes on the men’s finalists in 2019, which was 7,785 more than the previous all-time high that was set last year!

Name a better duo than our three men’s finalists in 2019 and broken records.

Go ahead and think about it. We’ll wait.

QUICK LINKS: Men’s Finalists | Women’s Finalists

During the 2019 collegiate track & field year – which spanned both the indoor and outdoor seasons – Mondo Duplantis of LSU, Grant Holloway of Florida and Divine Oduduru of Texas Tech combined to shatter a total of five collegiate records. Duplantis unified the indoor and outdoor pole vault records, while Holloway crushed both sprint hurdle marks and carried the baton for the Gators’ lightning-quick 4×100 relay team. (That number could have easily been seven as Oduduru ended up with the second fastest performances in collegiate history in both the 100 and outdoor 200 by just 0.04 seconds.)

Well, Duplantis, Holloway and Oduduru continued their record-setting ways in The Bowerman Fan Vote.

With one full day remaining in The Bowerman Fan Vote, supporters of Duplantis, Holloway and Oduduru have poured in 45,688 total votes, which topped the previous all-time high for votes tallied on men’s finalists by 102. The previous all-time high of 45,586 was set last year when Holloway joined the Southern California duo of Rai Benjamin and Michael Norman, the eventual winner of The Bowerman.

Holloway won The Bowerman Fan Vote last year and is quickly gaining ground on Oduduru, who currently leads. Duplantis holds a steady third.

Remember: The Bowerman Fan Vote closes Thursday, June 27, at 10 pm ET.


The Bowerman Presentation Archive