CONVENTION: Connie Price-Smith Honored With Jimmy Carnes Award

ORLANDO, Fla.Connie Price-Smith is this year’s recipient of the Jimmy Carnes Distinguished Service Award. Price-Smith was feted on Tuesday afternoon during Opening Session of the 2019 USTFCCCA Convention at the Grande Lakes Resort in Orlando, Florida.

The Jimmy Carnes Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to an individual who has gone above and beyond the call of duty in their service to the Association and to the sports of cross country and track & field.

From USTFCCCA Awards Central: Jimmy Carnes Distinguished Service Award

Price-Smith, who is the Director of Track & Field and Cross Country at Ole Miss, currently serves as the NCAA Division I Track & Field President and is on the USTFCCCA Board of Directors for the second time (She previously handled the role as the NCAA Division I At-Large Member from 2010 to 2011).

Prior to taking over as NCAA Division I Track & Field President, Price-Smith was the 1st Vice Present of NCAA Division I Track & Field from 2013 to 2016 and the 2nd Vice President of NCAA Division I Track & Field from 2011 to 2013 before that.

Price-Smith has also been a member of several sub-committees and working groups in addition to serving on the NCAA Track & Field Sport Committee from 2003 to 2007.

As a coach, Price-Smith’s athletes have broken three collegiate records in throwing events (two of which still stand), collected 12 NCAA event titles and 150 All-America honors between stints at Ole Miss (2015 to present) and Southern Illinois (2002 to 2015).

Jimmy Carnes Award – Past Winners

John Gartland
Indiana State
San Antonio, Texas
Gary Schwartz
Penn State/Tennessee
Phoenix, Arizona
Kirk Pedersen
Central Missouri
Orlando, Florida
Kari Kluckhohn
North Central (Ill.)
San Antonio, Texas
Patty Varva
Missouri Southern
Phoenix, Arizona
Dean Hayes
Middle Tennessee
Orlando, Florida
Gary Wilson
Orlando, Florida
Dave Harris
Emporia State
San Antonio, Texas
Jim Sackett
Cal Poly Pomona
San Antonio, Texas
Doug Watts
Edinboro University
Orlando, Florida
Bill Thornton
St. Olaf College
Phoenix, Arizona
John Copeland
Rhode Island
Phoenix, Arizona

More Convention News & Updates

January 9, 2020 - Check Out Symposium Materials From #USTFCCCA19

December 17, 2019 - CONVENTION: New Officers Elected To USTFCCCA Board of Directors

December 17, 2019 - CONVENTION: Connie Price-Smith Honored With Jimmy Carnes Award

December 16, 2019 - CONVENTION: Women In Coaching Event Takes Center Stage

December 9, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: One Week To Go Until #USTFCCCA19!

December 3, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Last Chance At Early Registration!

December 2, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: A Glance At Throws Symposiums

November 25, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Early Registration Window Closes Soon!

November 18, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: A Glance At Jumps Symposiums

November 11, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: A Glance At Endurance Symposiums

November 4, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: More Chances To Learn At Technical Symposiums

October 28, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Ground Transportation To #USTFCCCA19

October 21, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Visit Our Supporters In Orlando!

October 14, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Garry Rosenfield To Lead Assistant Coach Seminars

October 8, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: #USTFCCCA19 Is Calling

September 23, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Marquee Events Headline USTFCCCA Convention

September 9, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Women In Coaching Seminar Is Bigger Than Ever

August 26, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Book Your Room For The 2019 USTFCCCA Convention

August 12, 2019 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Register Now For 2019 USTFCCCA Convention

August 5, 2019 - Website For 2019 USTFCCCA Convention Is NOW LIVE!

January 3, 2019 - Get Your 2018 Symposium Materials Right Here

December 18, 2018 - CONVENTION: Dr. Joe Vigil Honored With George Dales Award

December 18, 2018 - CONVENTION: John Gartland Honored With Jimmy Carnes Award

December 17, 2018 - CONVENTION: Women In Coaching Seminars Take Center Stage

December 10, 2018 - CONVENTION UPDATE: Track & Field Academy Courses Filling Up Fast