MEET PREVIEW: Distance Stars Convene For Hayward Premiere

Track & field is back at Hayward Field!

Oregon’s Hayward Premiere meet, scheduled for Friday and Saturday, gives the storied facility its first meet in almost three years after having been completely rebuilt.

From The USTFCCCA InfoZone
: Meets & Results | Records & Lists

While attendance is limited due to local health and safety guidance, the meet will be webcast free of charge by RunnerSpace.

Entries include athletes from 17 programs, including reigning champions from the recent NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships (Oregon men, Arkansas women) and NCAA Cross Country Championships (BYU women).

The invitational distance fields look especially interesting.

Men’s 1500 Meters

The dynamic duo of Cole Hocker and Cooper Teare of Oregon are slated to make their outdoor debut. Hocker swept the mile and 3000 meters at the NCAA Indoor Championships, and Teare anchored the winning distance medley relay team. Teare held off Hocker earlier in the year as both smashed the indoor collegiate record in the mile (3:50.39 and 3:50.55, respectively).

Men’s 5000 Meters

Conner Mantz of BYU will be running his first race since a dominating win at the NCAA Cross Country Championships in Stillwater, Oklahoma. On the track, he clocked a 13:28.00 PR over the distance indoors back in February, just ahead of teammates Casey Clinger (13:28.79) and Brandon Garnica (13:29.16). Also entered is Eduardo Herrera, the individual champion at the Pac-12 Cross Country Championships.

Men’s 10,000 Meters

Wesley Kiptoo of Iowa State won 5000 meters at the NCAA Indoor Championships in a meet-record 13:23.77. Back in December, he ran his first 10,000 on the track at 27:37.29, the fastest by a collegian since 2014. He’ll be joined by teammate Edwin Kurgat, the individual champion at the 2019 NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Women’s 1500 Meters

BYU’s Courtney Wayment, a double NCAA Indoor champ in the 3000 and as anchor on the distance medley relay, is set to race against NCAA indoor mile runner-up Krissy Gear of Arkansas.