Award History
The Bowerman (men's winner)

Trey Cunningham Wins The Bowerman In 2022

AURORA, Colo. – Hurdling into history.

Trey Cunningham won The Bowerman on Thursday night, as the 2022 USTFCCCA Convention wrapped up at the Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center. Cunningham became the second athlete from Florida State to win collegiate track & field’s highest individual honor, joining former collegiate record holder Ngoni Makusha back in 2011.

The Alabama native had a year unlike any other over the barriers in collegiate history.

Between the time Cunningham debuted at the Clemson Invitational in mid-January to the time he completed the NCAA indoor-outdoor sweep in Eugene, Oregon, he posted seven all-time top-10 hurdling marks. In total, Cunningham had more single-season 7.42 or faster efforts in the 60-meter hurdles than anybody in collegiate history (four) and did the same with 13.13 or faster efforts outdoors (six) in the 110-meter version.

Speaking of that hurdling double between the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Championships, he did so with the second-fastest marks in collegiate history behind 2019 The Bowerman winner Grant Holloway: 7.38 indoors and 13.00 outdoors. Coincidentally enough, Holloway served as co-host of the 2022 The Bowerman Presentation alongside ESPN’s John Anderson.

Florida State now joins the likes of Oregon (five), LSU (three), Texas A&M (three) and Florida (two) as programs with multiple winners of The Bowerman.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive