The Bowerman: Past Winners Shine At IAAF World Indoor Championships

The 2018 IAAF World Indoor Championships turned into a giant stage on which past winners of The Bowerman could show off.

By the end of the three-day meet, past winners of collegiate track & field’s highest honor won three world championships and five medals.

The Bowerman: On The World Stage

2017 The Bowerman winner Christian Coleman and 2016 The Bowerman winner Courtney Okolo captured individual world titles in the 60 and 400, respectively.

Coleman, the 60-meter world record holder, did just enough to punch his ticket to the semifinals and then went to work. The former Tennessee standout posted the quickest time in that round (6.50) and blistered the track in the final to the tune of 6.37, which set a championship record.

Okolo was the fastest woman in qualifying, second quickest in the semifinals behind former Miami (Fla.) standout Shakima Wimbley and cruised to the world title by nearly one full second. She crossed the finish line in 50.55, well ahead of Wimbley’s mark of 51.47.

Later in the meet, Okolo anchored Team USA to gold in the women’s 4×400. Okolo split 50.15 and helped Team USA record the second fastest time in world history of 3:23.85.

The men’s 400-meter final saw two disqualifications that pushed 2014 The Bowerman winner Deon Lendore up to third. Lendore had originally finished fifth in 46.37, but those infractions sent him to his fifth world medal.

2015 The Bowerman winner Marquis Dendy started things off on the right foot on Day 2 when he won his second world medal. Dendy soared 8.42m (27-7½) on his fifth attempt, which put him in second place – but huge mark by eventual champion Juan Miguel Echevarria dropped the former Florida star to third.

If you’re counting at home, that’s now six world indoor titles won by past recipients of The Bowerman and a total of 27 IAAF medals.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive