The Bowerman: 2019 Men’s Preseason Watch List

NEW ORLEANS – If you want to win The Bowerman in December, there are few better places to be in January than on the Preseason Watch List.

Ever since The Bowerman Watch List was introduced in 2010, six of the past nine winners appeared on the preseason edition, including each winner from 2013 to 2017 (Derek Drouin, 2013; Deon Lendore, 2014; Marquis Dendy, 2015; Jarrion Lawson, 2016; Christian Coleman, 2017). Michael Norman, who won collegiate track & field’s highest honor in 2018, appeared on the Preseason Watch List in 2017 and while that was a full year before he took home the 35-pound award, there is something to be said about it.

Out of the 10 men who found a spot on the Preseason Watch List in 2019, one was a finalist in 2018, three others were semifinalists last year and five of them combined to win seven individual titles during the 2018 track & field cycle.

The Bowerman Watch List: 2019 Men’s Preseason Update

(Click student-athletes’ names for their TFRRS page)

Denzel Comenentia SR Georgia Throws Amsterdam, Netherlands
Mondo Dupalntis FR LSU Pole Vault Lafayette, La.
Andre Ewers SR Florida State Sprints Lauderhill, Fla.
Grant Fisher SR Stanford DIstance Grand Blanc, Mich.
Grant Holloway JR Florida Hurdles/Jumps Chesapeake, Va.
Morgan McDonald RS SR Wisconsin DIstance Sydney, Australia
Kahmari Montgomery SR Houston Sprints Plainfield, Ill.
Chris Nilsen JR South Dakota Pole Vault Kansas City, Mo.
Divine Oduduru JR Texas Tech Sprints Ughelli, Nigeria
Anderson Peters RS SO Mississippi State Throws St. Andrews, Grenada
Also Receiving Votes: Randall Cunningham (Southern California), Gleb Dudarev (Kansas), Jordan Geist (Arizona), Adrian Piperi (Texas)
NEXT: February 7

Grant Holloway was one of three men who earned a trip to San Antonio for The Bowerman Presentation in 2018. Holloway did it all for the Florida Gators last year and made history in the process. He broke the collegiate indoor record in the 60 hurdles and clocked the second fastest time in collegiate outdoor history in the 110 hurdles.

Denzel Comenentia left his mark on the collegiate landscape in a big way last year. The Georgia Bulldog became just the third man in NCAA DI history to win both the shot put and hammer at the same NCAA Outdoor Championships and became the 10th best performer in collegiate history in the hammer.

Mondo Duplantis enters his freshman year at LSU already accomplished. He won gold at both the IAAF World U20 Championships and the European Championships in 2018 and owns PRs that either surpass a current collegiate record or are quite close, most notably his outdoor PR of 6.05m (19-10¼), which is nearly three inches better than Lawrence Johnson’s 22-year-old all-time collegiate mark of 5.98m (19-7½).

Andre Ewers found his groove at the NCAA Outdoor Championships last year. Ewers finished runner-up in the 200 (20.29), third in the 100 (10.19) and anchored Florida State’s 4×100 relay team to a fifth-place finish to give him three First-Team All-America honors.

Stanford’s Grant Fisher is a three-time First-Team All-America honoree from last year who has always been in the mix for individual titles. Fisher finished third in the outdoor 5000 and fourth in the indoor 3000 last year and is hoping to replicate his success from 2017 when he won his only NCAA title to date in the outdoor 5000.

Morgan McDonald proved last February that he has a penchant to run fast. It was at the Australian Championships where McDonald clocked a time of 13:19.05, which made him the 10th fastest performer in collegiate history. McDonald last participated in a full track & field cycle for Wisconsin in 2017 since he redshirted the 2018 indoor season and only raced once outdoors.

Kahmari Montgomery continued to show why he is a top talent in the 400 last year. The Houston Cougar scorched the track with a scintillating carry at the Penn Relays of 43.38 and dipped under 45 seconds twice in the open 400 (44.91 and 44.92).

Chris Nilsen left his mark on both the collegiate indoor and collegiate outdoor record books last year. Indoors, the South Dakota pole vaulter is tied as the fifth best performer in collegiate history with a clearance of 5.80m (19-0¼). Outdoors, Nilsen is tied as the fourth best performer with his vault of 5.86m (19-2¾) and broke the NCAA Championships record with his winning mark of 5.83m (19-1½) at Historic Hayward Field.

Divine Oduduru snagged his first NCAA title last year when he won the outdoor 200 by .01 seconds over Ewers. The Texas Tech sprinter showed his speed twice during the indoor season when he clocked the fourth-fastest and sixth-fastest times in collegiate history (20.18 and 20.21, respectively).

Anderson Peters won the javelin title as a freshman last year when he uncorked a throw of 82.82m (271-9). That heave made the Mississippi State standout the seventh-best performer with the 10th-best performance in NCAA history.

Randall Cunningham of Southern California, Gleb Dudarev of Kansas, Jordan Geist of Arizona and Tripp Piperi of Texas all were recognized by The Bowerman Watch List Committee, but didn’t receive enough votes to be on the Preseason Watch List.

Preseason Watch List Notes

This is the 13th time that both Grant Holloway and Chris Nilsen have been on The Bowerman Watch List … This marks the first Watch List appearances for Mondo Duplantis, Andre Ewers, Morgan McDonald and Kahmari Montgomery … Florida has now had an athlete included on the Watch List 97 times, which is 40 more than Oregon, the next closest team.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive