The Bowerman Men’s Watch List for February Adds Wisconsin’s Michael Lihrman

NEW ORLEANS–With the NCAA indoor track & field season in full swing, The Bowerman Watch List Committee released the first Watch List that took into account 2015 performances. Nine of the ten athletes from the preseason Watch List are on this one.

The Bowerman Men’s Watch List (Feb.)

(Click student-athletes’ names for biographies & notes)

Shawn Barber JR Akron Pole Vault Kingwood, Texas
Trayvon Bromell SO Baylor Sprints St. Petersburg, Fla.
Edward Cheserek SO Oregon Distance Newark, N.J.
Ryan Crouser SR Texas Throws Gresham, Ore.
Marquis Dendy SR Florida Jumps Middletown, Del.
Dedric Dukes SR Florida Sprints Miami, Fla.
Deon Lendore SR Texas A&M Sprints Arima, Trinidad & Tobago
Michael Lihrman SR Wisconsin Throws Rice Lake, Wis.
Brandon McBride JR Mississippi State Distance Windsor, Ontario
Anthony Rotich SR UTEP Distance Nairobi, Kenya
Also Receiving Votes: Johannes Hock, Texas; Hayden Reed, Alabama; Michael Stigler, Kansas
Women’s Preseason Watch List: Thursday, Feb. 5
Next Men’s Watch List: Wednesday, March 4

The lone newcomer? Wisconsin’s Michael Lihrman, who broke his own NCAA Division I record in the weight throw two weeks ago with a toss of 24.47m (80-3.5) at the Wisconsin-Minnesota Dual. Lihrman, a senior, is making his second appearance on the Watch List. He is replacing Oregon hurdler Devon Allen, who is out for the indoor season after injuring his knee in the Rose Bowl.

What have the other Watch Listers been up to? Lihrman isn’t the only one to have posted a historic mark; Shawn Barber of Akron vaulted 5.87m (19-3) at the Texas Vault Expo. That’s higher than the standing collegiate record, though won’t count as such because it wasn’t achieved at a complete meet. Barber has cleared 5.80m (19-0.25) twice in winning efforts on his home track and at the Armory.

Defending Bowerman winner Deon Lendore already has the collegiate indoor record in the 4×400 meter relay. He and his Texas A&M teammates nearly brought down that record at Arkansas, running 3:03.23–only 0.03 shy of the NCAA standard they set a year ago.

Trayvon Bromell (60m), Edward Cheserek (3000m), Ryan Crouser (shot put), and Marquis Dendy (long jump) all lead the NCAA Championships qualifying list in their respective events. Distance runners McBride and Rotich and sprinter Dukes have all competed more sparingly, but have given the Committee no reason to replace them on the List yet.

With his 12th appearance, Texas’s Crouser is now tied for the sixth most in Bowerman history; Lendore breaks out of a tie with Erik Kynard and moves into eighth all-time with his 11th appearance.

Florida remains the all-time Watch List leader with 69 appearances. Though they have nearly triple the appearances of any other school (Arizona and Oregon are second and third on the list with 26 and 24 appearances, respectively), the Gators have never had a Bowerman Trophy winner.

Also receiving votes were multi-eventer Johannes Hock of Texas, thrower Hayden Reed of Alabama, and sprinter/hurdler Michael Stigler of Kansas.

The next men’s Watch List will be released on Wednesday, March 5; the women’s Watch List will be released tomorrow.