What 2017 Finalists For The Bowerman Have In Common

Similarities pull finalists for The Bowerman together.

Like back in 2009 and 2010, the respective women’s and men’s finalists saw quite a bit of each other throughout the collegiate track & field season and even more when they convened for The Bowerman Presentation at the annual USTFCCCA Convention.

That’s because in 2009 all of the women’s finalists were from the Big 12. Eventual winner Jenny Barringer hailed from Colorado, Destinee Hooker competed at Texas and Porscha Lucas spent her collegiate years at Texas A&M.

The following year all of the men’s finalists starred at Pac-12 institutions, headlined by the Oregon duo of Ashton Eaton (winner) and Andrew Wheating as well as Arizona’s Ryan Whiting.

Conference affiliation ties the men’s finalists in 2017 together. Christian Coleman, Fred Kerley and Lindon Victor all competed in the SEC. Coleman broke collegiate records at Tennessee, while Kerley and Victor did so at Texas A&M.

Coleman, Kerley and Victor also all dominated their respective individual finals. Coleman won his four NCAA titles by an average of 10 one-hundredths of a second (Not bad considering they were all short sprint crowns). Kerley crossed the finish line of the open 400 indoors and outdoors more than a half second ahead of the runner-up. Victor rolled to the decathlon crown by 209 points.

The women’s finalists in 2017 also all broke collegiate records this past track & field cycle. Arizona State’s Maggie Ewen shattered the hammer record, Georgia’s Keturah Orji unified the triple jump records by securing the indoor standard and Oregon’s Raevyn Rogers nabbed the outdoor 800-meter record and chipped in as the Ducks’ relay teams went wild.

Ewen, Orji and Rogers also each scored more than 20 combined points at NCAAs. Orji led the way with 34 (18 outdoors, 16 indoors), Ewen finished a close second with 29 (21 outdoors, 8 indoors) and Rogers totaled 24.5 (12.5 outdoors, 12 indoors).

This is also the first year that all three women’s finalists could return for another collegiate track & field campaign. Ewen, Orji and Rogers would all enter their senior year in the fall of 2017.

Which athletes will win The Bowerman? Find out December 15.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive