Award History
The Bowerman (women's winner)

Sha’Carri Richardson Wins The Bowerman in 2019

ORLANDO, Fla.Sha’Carri Richardson dashed from the track into the record book.

Then she went from the record book to holding The Bowerman.

Richardson, a former LSU star, won collegiate track & field’s highest honor on Thursday night inside the Mediterranean Ballroom as the 2019 USTFCCCA Convention drew to a close. She topped a talented group of finalists that also included Janeek Brown and Yanis David.

It took Richardson a little while to get going, but once she did, nothing could stop the freshman from Dallas.

Richardson put the nation on notice at the SEC Outdoor Championships when she became the first freshman in conference history to win the 100, 200 and run a leg of the winning 4×100 relay.

Then it was at the NCAA Outdoor Championships where she turned the collegiate track & field world on its head.

Richardson smashed a vaunted 30-year-old collegiate record in the 100 when she scorched the track to the tune of 10.75 in the final and became just the third freshman to win that event in NCAA DI history.

That performance came after she anchored LSU to a runner-up finish in the 4×100 relay and before she finished second in the 200 with the fifth fastest mark in collegiate history of 22.17.

Richardson is the second Tiger to win The Bowerman in award history. She joins Kimberlyn Duncan, who captured the honor in 2012.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive