The Bowerman: Recapping The Men’s Finalists In 2017

Twelve days after the conclusion of the 2017 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships, the men’s finalists for The Bowerman were announced and they weren’t much of a surprise for anybody who followed the sport throughout the year.

Christian Coleman, Fred Kerley and Lindon Victor all learned they’d be whisked away to Phoenix on December 15 for The Bowerman Presentation at the 2017 USTFCCCA Convention. Each of those three men separated themselves from the rest of the pack during their final collegiate seasons (Coleman turned pro soon after his junior year ended, while both Kerley and Victor exhausted eligibility).

Coleman, Kerley and Victor all hail from the SEC, making this the first time since 2010 that each of the men’s finalists are from the same conference (Pac-10). This also assures the SEC its fourth consecutive win on The Bowerman stage dating back to 2014.

CLICK HERE to read more about Christian Coleman.

CLICK HERE to read more about Fred Kerley.

CLICK HERE to read more about Lindon Victor.

Coleman became the first man to sweep the indoor and outdoor short-sprint titles since fellow Tennessee Volunteer Justin Gatlin in 2002. The Atlanta native also shattered the collegiate outdoor record in the 100 (9.82 to 9.89), matched the collegiate indoor record in the 60 (6.45) and clocked the second fastest times in collegiate history in both the indoor and outdoor 200.

Kerley dominated the quarter-mile scene like no other. In addition to winning four NCAA titles (two individual, two relay), Kerley broke the 25-year-old collegiate outdoor record in the 400 when he crossed the finish line in 43.70 at the NCAA West Preliminary Round. Kerley ended the year with four all-time top-10 marks in the outdoor 400 and three indoors.

Victor turned the decathlon into his personal playground. The Grenada native twice bettered the collegiate decathlon record, once at the Texas Relays when he scored 8472 points and then again at the SEC Championships with his total of 8539. Before Victor took aim at Trey Hardee’s mark, the collegiate decathlon record had only been broken twice in the previous 31 years (Hardee last toppled it in 2006).

No one knows right now who will win The Bowerman, but Kerley already has a leg up on the other two after winning The Bowerman Fan Vote. Kerley won by two percent over Coleman (40.8 to 38.8) and earned a first-place vote in the process.

Find out who wins The Bowerman when it’s announced live on FloTrack and Facebook Live on Friday, December 15. The Bowerman Red Carpet Show starts at 8 pm ET with The Bowerman Presentation getting underway an hour later.


The Bowerman Voters will receive ballots listing each of the finalists and must rank them by first, second and third choice. First-place votes will receive three points, second place will notch two, and third will receive one point. The finalist with the highest point total will be declared the winner.

The Bowerman Voters consist of:

  • The Bowerman Advisory Board (11 members)
  • Select media personnel, statisticians, and collegiate administrators
  • Galen Rupp, 2009 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Ashton Eaton, 2010 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Ngoni Makusha, 2011 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Cam Levins, 2012 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Derek Drouin, 2013 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Deon Lendore, 2014 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Marquis Dendy, 2015 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Jarrion Lawson, 2016 men’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Jenny (Barringer) Simpson, 2009 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Queen Harrison, 2010 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Jessica Beard, 2011 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Kimberlyn Duncan, 2012 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Brianna Rollins, 2013 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Laura Roesler, 2014 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Jenna Prandini, 2015 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Courtney Okolo, 2016 women’s winner of The Bowerman
  • Online voting by the public will constitute one collective vote (ranking of choices will be made by order of total single votes)
  • Online voting by USTFCCCA members will constitute one collective vote (ranking of choices will be made by order of total single votes)



Winner: Galen Rupp, Oregon
Finalist: Ashton Eaton, Oregon
Finalist: German Fernandez, Oklahoma State

Winner: Ashton Eaton, Oregon
Finalist: Andrew Wheating, Oregon
Finalist: Ryan Whiting, Arizona State

Winner: Ngoni Makusha, Florida State
Finalist: Jeshua Anderson, Washington State
Finalist: Christian Taylor, Florida

Winner: Cam Levins, Southern Utah
Finalist: Tony McQuay, Florida
Finalist: Andrew Riley, Illinois

Winner: Derek Drouin, Indiana
Finalist: Lawi Lalang, Arizona
Finalist: Julian Wruck, UCLA

Winner: Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Finalist: Edward Cheserek, Oregon
Finalist: Lawi Lalang, Arizona

Winner: Marquis Dendy, Florida
Finalist: Shawn Barber, Akron
Finalist: Edward Cheserek, Oregon

Winner: Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas
Finalist: Donavan Brazier, Texas A&M
Finalist: Edward Cheserek, Oregon

Finalist: Christian Coleman, Tennessee
Finalist: Fred Kerley, Texas A&M
Finalist: Lindon Victor, Texas A&M


Winner: Jenny Barringer, Colorado
Finalist: Destinee Hooker, Texas
Finalist: Porscha Lucas, Texas A&M

Winner: Queen Harrison, Virginia Tech
Finalist: Lisa Koll, Iowa State
Finalist: Blessing Okagbare, UTEP

Winner: Jessica Beard, Texas A&M
Finalist: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Finalist: Tina Sutej, Arkansas

Winner: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Finalist: Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
Finalist: Brianne Theisen, Oregon

Winner: Brianna Rollins, Clemson
Finalist: Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
Finalist: Kori Carter, Stanford

Winner: Laura Roesler, Oregon
Finalist: Sharika Nelvis, Arkansas State
Finalist: Courtney Okolo, Texas

Winner: Jenna Prandini, Oregon
Finalist: Kendra Harrison, Kentucky
Finalist: Demi Payne, Stephen F. Austin

Winner: Courtney Okolo, Texas
Finalist: Keturah Orji, Georgia
Finalist: Raven Saunders, Ole Miss

Finalist: Maggie Ewen, Arizona State
Finalist: Keturah Orji, Georgia
Finalist: Raevyn Rogers, Oregon


The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation.

Past winners include two-time Olympic gold medalist, five-time World Champion and decathlon world-record holder Ashton Eaton (2010), two-time Olympic medalist Galen Rupp (2009), Olympic bronze medalist and 2011 IAAF World Champion at 1500 meters Jenny Simpson (2009), Olympic gold medalist and 2013 100-meter hurdles World Champion Brianna Rollins (2013) as well as two-time Olympic medalist in the high jump and 2015 World Champion Derek Drouin (2013).

Bill Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA’s predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.

For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit


The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) is a non-profit professional organization representing cross country and track & field coaches of all levels. The organization represents over 9,000 coaching members encompassing 94% of all NCAA track & field programs (DI, DII, and DIII) and includes members representing the NAIA, NJCAA as well as a number of state high school coaches associations. The USTFCCCA serves as an advocate for cross country and track & field coaches, providing a leadership structure to assist the needs of a diverse membership, serving as a lobbyist for coaches’ interests, and working as a liaison between the various stakeholders in the sports of cross country and track & field.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive