The Bowerman: It’s All About Parity

Parity is a calling card of The Bowerman.

Since 2009 when collegiate track & field’s highest honor made its debut, athletes from 15 different programs have captured the iconic 35-pound award (And if you want to only focus on the men’s award, nine different programs have won it in the past 10 years).


The past three years have been especially varied as five new programs were added to the list.

Courtney Okolo and Jarrion Lawson started the trend in 2016 when Texas and Arkansas became the 11th and 12th different programs to win The Bowerman. Then Tennessee standout Christian Coleman pushed that number to 13 last year at the 2017 USTFCCCA Convention.

You’ll have to go all the way back to yesterday to find out when the 14th and 15th programs had winners grace the stage. That’s right: Keturah Orji made Georgia the 14th program (sixth from the SEC), while Michael Norman etched Southern California on the list at No. 15.

Here is a chart of all of the winning programs in the history of The Bowerman.

It’s All About The Hardware

Program Conference Number Athletes
Oregon Pac-12 5 Galen Rupp, 2009
Ashton Eaton, 2010
Laura Roesler, 2014
Jenna Prandini, 2015
Raevyn Rogers, 2017
Texas A&M Big 12/SEC 2 Jessica Beard, 2011
Deon Lendore, 2014
Colorado Big 12 1 Jenny Simpson, 2009
Virginia Tech ACC 1 Queen Harrison, 2010
Florida State ACC 1 Ngoni Makusha, 2011
LSU SEC 1 Kimberlyn Duncan, 2012
Southern Utah The Summit 1 Cam Levins, 2012
Clemson ACC 1 Brianna Rollins-McNeal, 2013
Indiana Big Ten 1 Derek Drouin, 2013
Florida SEC 1 Marquis Dendy, 2015
Texas Big 12 1 Courtney Okolo, 2016
Arkansas SEC 1 Jarrion Lawson, 2016
Tennessee SEC 1 Christian Coleman, 2017
Georgia SEC 1 Keturah Orji, 2018
Southern California Pac-12 1 Michael Norman, 2018

The Bowerman Presentation Archive