The Bowerman: 2019 Women’s Post-Indoor Watch List

NEW ORLEANS – As all of the hardware has been handed out from the 2019 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships this past weekend in Birmingham, Alabama, that means it’s the perfect time for the Women’s Post-Indoor Watch List for The Bowerman – collegiate track & fields highest honor – which was released by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Wednesday.

The index now includes national champions, conference champions and record setters as athletes around the nation are prepared to make the switch from the indoor to outdoor seasons.

In total the Post-Indoor Watch List scored 98 points at the NCAA Indoor Championships to go with eight national titles.

The Bowerman Watch List: 2019 Women’s Post-Indoor Update

(Click student-athletes’ names for their TFRRS page)

Michelle Atherley SR Miami (Fla.) Combined Events North Port, Fla.
Chanel Brissett SO Southern California Sprints/Hurdles Philadelphia, Pa.
Olivia Gruver SR Washington Pole Vault Reisterstown, Md.
Jessica Hull SR Oregon Distance Albion Park, Australia
Lexi Jacobus JR Arkansas Pole Vault Cabot, Ark.
Mackenzie Little SR Stanford Javelin Roseville, Australia
Alicia Monson JR Wisconsin Mid-Distance Amery, Wis.
Danae Rivers JR Penn State Mid-Distance Derby, Conn.
Kaelin Roberts SO Southern California Sprints Long Beach, Calif.
Kayla White SR North Carolina A&T Sprints Miami, Fla.
Also Receiving Votes: Lynna Irby (Georgia), Dani Jones (Colorado), Sade Olatoye (Ohio State), Twanisha Terry (Southern California)
NEXT: April 17

The returning athletes to the Watch List include Chanel Brissett (Southern California), Jessica Hull (Oregon), Lexi Jacobus (Arkansas), Mackenzie Little (Stanford), Alicia Monson (Wisconsin) and Danae Rivers (Penn State). Olivia Gruver (Washington) made her way back to the list after receiving votes in the last edition that was released before the indoor meet.

Returners to the list all made their marks at indoor nationals as:

Brissett won the 60 hurdles in 7.90, which made her the eighth-best performer in collegiate history.

Hull won the 3000 in 9:01.14 and anchored the first-place DMR.

Jacobus picked up the national crown in the pole vault with a clearance of 4.61m (15-1½) after posting the second-best performance in collegiate history at the SEC Championships.

Monson won the 5000 in 15:31.26 and finished 10th in the 3000.

Rivers won the 800 in 2:03.69.

Gruver and Little still have yet to compete this year as neither athlete suited up for their respective programs during the indoor season. Both athletes are the returning outdoor champions in their respective event as Gruver captured the national title in the pole vault and Little took top prize in the javelin throw at the 2018 NCAA DI Outdoor Championships.

Three athletes made their career debuts on the Watch List: Michelle Atherley of Miami (Fla.), Kaelin Roberts of Southern California and Kayla White of North Carolina A&T. That brings the number of debuts to 13 this year.

Atherley was crowded the national champion in the pentathlon with a new personal best score of 4547, which bettered her previous PR that she set at the ACC Championships. Atherley became the seventh-best performer in the event in collegiate history.

Roberts joined the list after winning the national title in the 400. Her showing of 51.50 sits just outside the all-time top-10 in the event and gave he the national lead. She also ran a leg of the Women of Troy’s 4×400 squad that took sixth overall.

White enters the Watch List this week after winning the national crown in the 200 and finishing second in the 60H. That gave her 18 points, which is an all-time leading mark for combined points scored by an athlete doing that challenging double in meet history. She is the first athlete from North Carolina A&T to make the Watch List in program history.

Four athletes received votes, but not enough for their names to be included on the Watch List: Lynna Irby (Georgia), Dani Jones (Colorado), Sade Olatoye (Ohio State) and Twanisha Terry (Southern California). The receiving votes category was split between two sophomores (Irby and Terry) and two seniors (Jones and Olatoye).

The next Bowerman Watch List will be released on April 17.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive