The Bowerman Presentation Returns To Orlando

ORLANDO, Fla.The Bowerman Presentation and the Grande Lakes Resort.

Name a better duo.

For a record-breaking fifth time, the biggest night in collegiate track & field will emanate from the Sunshine State at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes.

The first time the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) handed out The Bowerman in Orlando was the first time the award ever went into the hands of collegiate track & field’s most outstanding male and female athlete. That was 2009 with Jenny Barringer of Colorado and Galen Rupp of Oregon taking home the award.

READ MORE: Barringer, Rupp Win The Bowerman In 2009

We returned to Orlando three years later, which is when Kimberlyn Duncan of LSU and Cam Levins of Southern Utah hoisted the 35-pound trophy. Duncan was the first female winner from the SEC, while Levins remains the only non-Power 5 athlete to win The Bowerman.

READ MORE: Duncan, Levins Win The Bowerman In 2012

Derek Drouin of Indiana and Brianna Rollins of Clemson earned the iconic award the following year when The Bowerman went back to back in Orlando. Drouin remains the only athlete from the Big Ten to win The Bowerman, while Rollins became the second hurdler to do so (Queen Harrison was the first in 2010).

READ MORE: Droin, Rollins Win The Bowerman In 2013

Jarrion Lawson of Arkansas and Courtney Okolo of Texas won The Bowerman in 2016, the last time the ceremony was held inside the Mediterranean Ballroom. Lawson was the third of four consecutive male athletes from the SEC to earn the award, while Okolo was the first Big 12 athlete to win since Jessica Beard of Texas A&M in 2011.

READ MORE: Lawson Wins The Bowerman | Okolo Wins The Bowerman

The Bowerman Presentation begins Thursday, December 19 at 7 pm ET (4 pm PT) LIVE on ESPN3 and the ESPN App. This is the second year in a row that The Bowerman Presentation will be aired LIVE on ESPN’s networks.

Men’s finalists for The Bowerman in 2019 are Mondo Duplantis of LSU, Grant Holloway of Florida and Divine Oduduru of Texas Tech. Duplantis, Holloway and Oduduru combined for eight national titles and five collegiate records between the indoor and outdoor campaigns and truly altered the complexion of collegiate history.

READ MOREThe Bowerman – Men’s Finalists Announcement

Women’s finalists for The Bowerman in 2019 are Janeek Brown of Arkansas, Yanis David of Florida and Sha’Carri Richardson of LSU. Brown, David and Richardson starred in their respective events and combined to score 76.5 points at the NCAA Championships in 2019.

READ MOREThe Bowerman – Women’s Finalists Announcement

Be sure to tune in and check out collegiate track & field’s biggest night when it gets underway on Thursday at 7 pm ET, LIVE on ESPN3!


The Bowerman Presentation Archive