The Bowerman: 2020 Men’s Pre-NCAA Indoor Watch List

NEW ORLEANS – Here are two numbers to chew on: 22 and 32.

Twenty-two is the number of athletes who received votes on The Bowerman Men’s Pre-NCAA Indoor Watch List, which was released on Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) following a deliberation by The Bowerman Watch List Committee.

Thirty-two is the number of athletes who have received votes on the Men’s Watch List for The Bowerman – collegiate track & field’s highest honor – throughout the 2020 season thus far.

The Bowerman Watch List: 2020 Men’s Pre-NCAA Indoor Update

(Click student-athletes’ names for their TFRRS page)

Trey Cunningham JR Florida State Hurdles Winfield, Ala.
Tyler Day SR Northern Arizona Distance Gilbert, Ariz.
Devin Dixon SR Texas A&M Mid-Distance/Relays McDonough, Ga.
Gleb Dudarev JR/SR Kansas Throws Vitebsk, Belarus
Johannes Erm JR Georgia Combined Events Tallinn, Estonia
JuVaughn Harrison JR LSU Jumps Huntsville, Ala.
KC Lightfoot SO Baylor Pole Vault Lee’s Summit, Mo.
Chris Nilsen SR South Dakota Pole Vault Kansas City, Mo.
Jordan Scott SR Virginia Jumps Portmore, Jamaica
Darryl Sullivan SR Tennessee Jumps Marion, Ill.
Also Receiving Votes: Clayton Brown (Florida), Bryce Deadmon (Texas A&M), Raymond Ekevwo (Florida), Quincy Hall (South Carolina), Oliver Hoare (Wisconsin), Edwin Kurgat (Iowa State), Carey McLeod (Tennessee), Yared Nuguse (Notre Dame), Jacory Patterson (Virginia Tech), Randolph Ross (North Carolina A&T), Trevor Stewart (North Carolina A&T), James West (Oregon)
NEXT: March 19

Well, eight men from the last Watch List return – Trey Cunningham, Tyler Day, Devin Dixon, Gleb Dudarev, Johannes Erm, JuVaughn Harrison, Chris Nilsen and Darryl Sullivan – while two others join the mix – KC Lightfoot and Jordan Scott.

Cunningham enters the NCAA meet ranked first nationally in the 60 Meter Hurdles at 7.51, a mark that tied him as the No. 7 performer in collegiate history. He remained undefeated against collegiate competition this past weekend when he won the ACC title in a meet record of 7.60.

Day will pull double duty at the NCAA meet in the 3000 Meters and 5000 Meters, where he is ranked second and first nationally, respectively. Not only is he among the national leaders, but Day is also among the best in collegiate history with his No. 3 all-time mark in the 5000 of 13:16.93 and his No. 12 historical billing in the 3000 of 7:45.70.

Dixon finally worked his way up the Descending Order List in the 800 Meters and continues to be his usual strong self carrying a baton. He is ranked seventh nationally in the 800 at 1:47.88 and will look to win his first NCAA title in that event and has anchored the Aggies’ top-ranked 4×400 relay team all season long.

Dudarev has been Mr. Consistent throughout the season in the weight throw, which is a major reason why he is ranked first nationally going into NCAAs. Just this season alone, Dudarev has put three marks in the all-time top-25, including the No. 14 mark of 24.38m (80-0) that left him as the fifth best performer in collegiate history.

Erm is the nation’s top-ranked heptathlete at 6114 points, a total that slots him in as the 11th best performer in collegiate history. He hasn’t competed in a multi since the Razorback Invitational, but did improve his seasonal best in the pole vault to 4.96m (16-3¼) at the SEC Championships.

Harrison has eyes on his second consecutive sweep of the high jump and long jump at the NCAA Championships. If you remember, Harrison became the first male athlete in NCAA DI history to do so last year in Austin, Texas. Harrison is the second-ranked athlete in the long jump right now at 8.19m (26-10½) and third-ranked athlete in the high jump at 2.28m (7-5¾).

Lightfoot makes his Watch List debut and justifiably so. The Baylor pole vaulter has been on a tear this season as he notched 19-foot clearances in three consecutive weeks, including a PR of 5.83m (19-1½) in which he won the event title at the Iowa State Classic.

You can’t discuss the pole vault without bringing up Chris Nilsen, the collegiate record holder. Nilsen is the national leader in the event at 5.93m (19-5½), a mark that took down the one-year-old standard established by Mondo Duplantis last year.

Scott has been a Tour de Force in the triple jump ever since he made his season debut. It was at the Tiger Paw Invitational when he bounded 17.02m (55-10¼) on his third attempt to become the 17th best performer in collegiate history. That was part of an epic series where Scott topped 16.83m (55-2¾) on three separate occasions.

Sullivan is still riding high off his 2.33m (7-7¾) clearance in the high jump at the Virginia Tech Invitational in mid-January. He is the national leader in the event and will look to improve upon his runner-up finish from one year ago.

Twelve other men were discussed by The Bowerman Watch List Committee, but didn’t end up on this installment: Clayton Brown of Florida, Bryce Deadmon of Texas A&M, Raymond Ekevwo of Florida, Quincy Hall of South Carolina, Oliver Hoare of Wisconsin, Edwin Kurgat of Iowa State, Carey McLeod of Tennessee, Yared Nuguse of Notre Dame, Jacory Patterson of Virginia Tech, Randolph Ross of North Carolina A&T, Trevor Stewart of North Carolina A&T and James West or Oregon. 


The Bowerman Presentation Archive