History of The Bowerman in Orlando

ORLANDO, Fla. – The Bowerman Presentation and the Grande Lakes Resort.

Name a better duo.

For the sixth time, the biggest night in collegiate track & field will emanate from the Sunshine State at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes.

The first time the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) handed out The Bowerman in Orlando was the first time the award ever went into the hands of collegiate track & field’s most outstanding male and female athletes. That was 2009 with Jenny Barringer of Colorado and Galen Rupp of Oregon taking home the award.

READ MOREBarringer, Rupp Win The Bowerman In 2009

We returned to Orlando three years later, which is when Kimberlyn Duncan of LSU and Cam Levins of Southern Utah hoisted the 35-pound trophy. Duncan was the first female winner from the SEC, while Levins remains the only non-Power 5 athlete to win The Bowerman.

READ MOREDuncan, Levins Win The Bowerman In 2012

Derek Drouin of Indiana and Brianna Rollins of Clemson earned the iconic award the following year when The Bowerman went back to back in Orlando. Drouin remains the only athlete from the Big Ten to win The Bowerman, while Rollins became the second hurdler to do so (Queen Harrison was the first in 2010).

READ MOREDroin, Rollins Win The Bowerman In 2013

Jarrion Lawson of Arkansas and Courtney Okolo of Texas won The Bowerman in 2016. Lawson was the third of four consecutive male athletes from the SEC to earn the award, while Okolo was the first Big 12 athlete to win since Jessica Beard of Texas A&M in 2011.

READ MORELawson Wins The Bowerman | Okolo Wins The Bowerman

Then, two years ago, Grant Holloway of Florida and Sha’Carri Richardson of LSU reigned the last time the ceremony was held inside the Mediterranean Ballroom. Holloway was the fifth male athlete from the SEC in the past six years to capture the award, while Richardson was the first female sprinter to win The Bowerman since Jenna Prandini in 2015.

READ MORE: Holloway Wins The Bowerman | Richardson Wins The Bowerman

The Bowerman Presentation begins Friday, December 17, at 7 pm ET (4 pm PT) LIVE on YouTube.

Men’s finalists for The Bowerman in 2021 are JuVaughn Harrison of LSU, Cole Hocker of Oregon and Turner Washington of Arizona State.  Harrison, Hocker and Washington combined for a staggering 10 NCAA individual titles – each finalist winning at least three – and a slew of all-time top-10 performances, including one collegiate record.

READ MOREThe Bowerman – Men’s Finalists Announcement

Women’s finalists for The Bowerman in 2019 are Tara Davis of Texas, Tyra Gittens of Texas A&M and Athing Mu of Texas A&M.  Davis, Gittens and Mu combined for six NCAA individual titles (eight overall), a share of nine collegiate records and 20 all-time top-10 marks.

READ MOREThe Bowerman – Women’s Finalists Announcement

Be sure to tune in and check out collegiate track & field’s biggest night when it gets underway on Friday at 7 pm ET, LIVE on YouTube!


The Bowerman Presentation Archive