The Bowerman: Award Superlatives Through 2021

JuVaughn Harrison and Athing Mu were crowned winners of The Bowerman just a few days ago at the conclusion of the 2021 USTFCCCA Convention at the Grande Lakes Resort in Orlando, Florida. Harrison and Mu combined to win seven NCAA individual titles, shatter six collegiate records and notch a plethora of all-time top-10 marks throughout the 2021 seasons.

This was the second time in a row that athletes from the SEC swept top honors at The Bowerman Presentation. Harrison and Mu, who competed at LSU and Texas A&M, respectively, joined 2019 recipients Grant Holloway and Sha’Carri Richardson, who competed at Florida and LSU, in that regard.

All told, athletes from the SEC have combined to win collegiate track & field’s highest individual honor 10 times: Kimberly Duncan in 2012; Deon Lendore in 2014; Marquis Dendy in 2015; Jarrion Lawson in 2016; Christian Coleman in 2017; Keturah Orji in 2018; Holloway and Richardson in 2019; Harrison and Mu in 2021. That’s five of the past six since 2018.

LSU and Texas A&M now each have three winners of The Bowerman in program history. That’s tied for second most in the history of The Bowerman behind Oregon, which has five – but none since Raevyn Rogers in 2017: Galen Rupp in 2009; Ashton Eaton in 2010; Laura Roesler in 2014; Jenna Prandini in 2015; and finally, Rogers now five years ago.

As far as winners by classifications go, seniors have won The Bowerman 13 times – two more than all of the other years combined: juniors have won The Bowerman the second most with eight; freshmen now have two from the past two years with Mu and Richarson; sophomores took home collegiate track & field’s highest honor once with Michael Norman in 2018.

What would a post about The Bowerman be without one of the winners making history? Mu became the youngest winner of The Bowerman at 19 years, 23 days – 252 days younger than Richardson in 2019.


The Bowerman Presentation Archive