The Bowerman: 2022 Men’s Watch List Update #1

NEW ORLEANS – Competition for The Bowerman is heating up.

All-time marks keep pouring in as the Men’s Watch List underwent some changes.

Here are the 10 men who landed on The Bowerman Mid-Indoor Watch List in 2022: Matthew Boling of Georgia, Sean “Squirrel” Burrell of LSU, Trey Cunningham of Florida State, Joe Fahnbulleh of Florida, Zach McWhorter of BYU, Brandon Miller of Texas A&M, Ayden Owens of Arkansas, Randolph Ross Jr. of North Carolina A&T, Turner Washington of Arizona State and Micah Williams of Oregon.

Seven of those athletes returned from the Preseason Watch List, while three make their 2022 debut on the newest index, which was released on Thursday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

The Bowerman Men’s Watch List

2022 Update #1 — February 3

Year Team Events Hometown
Matthew BolingJRGeorgiaSprints/JumpsHouston, Texas
Sean BurrellSOLSUHurdlesZachary, La.
Trey CunninghamSRFlorida StateHurdlesWinfield, Ala.
Joseph FahnbullehSOFloridaSprintsHopkins, Minn.
Zach McWhorterSOBYUPole VaultSpringdale, Ark.
Brandon MillerSOTexas A&MMid-DistanceSt. Louis, Mo.
Ayden OwensJRArkansasCombined EventsWexford, Pa.
Randolph RossJRNorth Carolina A&TSprintsGarner, N.C.
Turner WashingtonSRArizona StateThrowsTucson, Ariz.
Micah WilliamsSOOregonSprintsPortland, Ore.

ALSO RECEIVING VOTES Trevor Bassitt, Ashland (Sprints/Hurdles); Morgan Beadlescomb, Michigan State (Distance); Emmanuel Ihemeje, Oregon (Jumps); Wesley Kiptoo, Iowa State (Distance); Yared Nuguse, Notre Dame (Mid-Distance/Distance); Jacory Patterson, Florida (Sprints); Nico Young, Northern Arizona (Distance)

NEXT UPDATE: Thursday, March 3

Boling, who hails from Houston, Texas, vaulted himself into contention for The Bowerman with a sensational start to the indoor season. The indoor national champion at 200 meters from 2021 is undefeated through three meets with some big marks. It was three weeks ago at the Clemson Invitational where Boling put together the finest 200m-long jump, single-meet double in world history: 20.49 in the 200; 8.25m (27-1) in the long jump. Then Boling went 6.60 in the 60 at the Samford Invitational before lowering his national-leading mark in the 200 to 20.27 on the same Randal Tyson Center track in which he won his first individual national title.

Burrell, who hails from Zachary, Louisiana, has yet to make his season debut in an open event. Three weeks ago, Burrell anchored LSU to a 3:08.41 mark in the 4×400 relay. Don’t forget that Burrell is a 400-meter-hurdles specialist and set the world U20 record last year of 47.85 to win the individual title at the NCAA DI Outdoor Championships in Eugene, Oregon.

Cunningham, who hails from Winfield, Alabama, starred at the Texas Tech Open & Multis this past weekend. The Florida State standout lowered his PR in the 60-meter hurdles to 7.49 in the preliminary round and then returned to the track to blister a 7.46 clocking in the semifinal. That mark moved Cunningham up to No. 4 in collegiate history behind 2019 The Bowerman winner Grant Holloway, Daniel Roberts and Omar McLeod.

Fahnbulleh, who hails from Hopkins, Minnesota, has yet to compete this season. The outdoor national champion at 200 meters from 2021 with a wind-legal 19.91 effort that moved him up to No. 8 in collegiate history had a long season. Fahnbulleh fought his way through the rounds of the Tokyo Olympic Games and finished fifth in the 200-meter final, 0.05 seconds out of fourth.

McWhorter, who hails from Springdale, Arkansas, started the indoor season in style. He cleared 5.82m (19-1) in the pole vault to match the No. 8 performer in collegiate history and become the first collegian to top 5.79m (19-0) that early in the season. McWhorter finished runner-up in the pole vault at the NCAA DI Indoor Championships last year.

Miller, who hails from St. Louis, Missouri, asserted himself this season with some blistering marks. It was back in early December where Miller went 1:15.49 over 600 meters to become the sixth-fastest performer in collegiate history (Miller also added a 1:15.94 effort this past weekend in Lubbock, Texas). Then it was in his first meet of the new calendar year where Miller snagged the national lead in the 800 meters with his 1:47.48 clocking.

Owens, who hails from Wexford, Pennsylvania, and makes his Watch List debut, etched his name into the record book this past weekend at the Razorback Invitational. It was in Fayetteville, Arkansas, where Owens recorded PRs in four of the seven events in the heptathlon to amass 6271 points, which cemented him as the No. 2 performer in collegiate history behind 2010 The Bowerman winner Ashton Eaton.

Ross, who hails from Raleigh, North Carolina, has been a force this season for North Carolina A&T. The three-time NCAA champion from 2021 is ranked first nationally in both the 400 and the 4×400 relay and moved up to No. 3 nationally in the 200. His mark in the 400 of 45.37 trails his indoor PR of 44.99 from the NCAA DI Indoor Championships last year, but was the second-fastest two-lapper turned in by a collegian in the month of January in collegiate history.

Washington, who hails from Tucson, Arizona, picked up where he left off in 2021. By “picked up where he left off,” we mean continuing his undefeated streak. Washington, a finalist for The Bowerman last year, is 2-0 in the shot put through two meets with a seasonal-best of 21.33m (69-11¾) from his season opener back on January 14. Dating back to last year, Washington is 10-0 in shot put finals, which includes a sweep of the NCAA titles (and a discus crown to boot).

Williams, who hails from Portland, Oregon, and makes his Watch List debut, has been Mr. Consistent this indoor season. Well, you could say the same if you go back to the NCAA DI Indoor Championships last year when he won the 60 in 6.49. Williams has competed in two 60-meter finals this season and both times, he broke the tape first in 6.48. He is currently ranked second on the Descending Order List.

There were seven athletes who received votes, but not enough to land on the Watch List: Trevor Bassitt of Ashland, Morgan Beadlescomb of Michigan State, Emmanuel Ihmeje of Oregon, Wesley Kiptoo of Iowa State, Yared Nuguse of Notre Dame, Jacory Patterson of Florida and Nico Young of Northern Arizona. Beadlescomb and Young received votes for the first time.

The next Men’s Watch List will be released on March 3.


The Bowerman Presentation Archive