The Bowerman Presentation Through The Years

AURORA, Colo. – The Bowerman Presentation is Thursday!

We’ll find out the recipients of collegiate track & field’s highest individual honor in just a few days when the 2022 Presentation emanates from the Adams Ballroom at the Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center outside of Denver.

QUICK LINKS: Past Winners (2009-2021) | Men’s Finalists | Women’s Finalists

Did you know that this is the first time The Bowerman Presentation – which is part of the annual USTFCCCA Convention – has been held in Colorado? Well, now you know.

Back in 2009, the annual USTFCCCA Convention took place at the Grande Lakes Resort in Orlando, Florida, which was also the first time The Bowerman was ever awarded. Jenny Barringer (now Simpson) and Galen Rupp were the inaugural winners of The Bowerman.

The first time the annual USTFCCCA Convention was held at the JW Marriott Hill Country Resort & Spa in San Antonio, Texas, was in 2010 and Ashton Eaton and Queen Harrison won The Bowerman.

Four years later, the annual USTFCCCA Convention made its first of two stops at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa in Phoenix. Deon Lendore and Laura Roesler were crowned the most outstanding collegiate track & field athletes in 2014.

Fast forward to 2022: The Bowerman has arrived in the Centennial State.

What does history show us? Well, a female athlete from a different conference has won each of those years (Big 12, ACC, Pac-12) and the men’s winner has come either from the Pac-12 or SEC. That bodes well for Anna Hall of Florida and Abby Steiner of Kentucky, as well as Ayden Owens-Delerme of Arkansas. All three of them competed for SEC programs in 2022 and the SEC has yet to have a female winner in the first visit to a Convention site.

Don’t discount Trey Cunningham of Florida State, Randolph Ross Jr. of North Carolina A&T or Camryn Rogers of California, either. All six finalists are equally as deserving and we’ll find out on Thursday night who will join The Bowerman Family this year.

The Bowerman Presentation Archive