The Bowerman: A Look Back Through The Years

Today would have been The Bowerman Presentation.

The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009 and is named after legendary University of Oregon coach Bill Bowerman, is presented annually in December by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) to the most outstanding male and female NCAA track & field athletes in the nation.

Back in August, though, the USTFCCCA announced it would not be presenting The Bowerman in 2020.

“After evaluating all aspects, we decided it is prudent to forgo our normal procedures associated with naming winners for The Bowerman for the 2020 track & field seasons,” said Sam Seemes, CEO of the USTFCCCA. “This decision did not come easily. The presentation of The Bowerman has become a marquee event, and I’m disappointed we are unable to celebrate the outstanding, world-class student-athletes that made a mark on the collegiate track & field landscape this year.”

Not long after, the USTFCCCA announced it canceled the 2020 Convention due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It was to be held December 14-17 at the Gaylord Rockies Resort outside of Denver.

It’s almost apropos, since The Bowerman Presentation has been synonymous with Convention for the past 11 years. Actually, exactly 11 years ago yesterday – December 16, 2009 – Jenny Barringer of Colorado held The Bowerman for the first time.


Past winners of The Bowerman – like Barringer, her 2009 counterpart Galen Rupp, 2010 men’s winner Ashton Eaton and others – have left an incredible mark on the world stage over the years. In fact, 15 past winners have combined for 10 Olympic medals — five gold medals — 13 World Championships, 8 World Indoor Championships and 38 total World Championships medals.

Last year The Bowerman went to Grant Holloway of Florida and Sha’Carri Richardson of LSU. We can’t wait for them to hand the award off to the next recipients in 2021!


The Bowerman Presentation Archive