Award History
NCAA DI Program of the Year

Arkansas, Oregon Named NCAA Division I Programs of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – Consistency and unprecedented success were rewarded on Tuesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) as the Arkansas men and Oregon women were named NCAA Division I Programs of the Year.

This marks the second time in the history of the award that the Ducks and Razorbacks were honored together. The first occurrence came at the conclusion of the 2012-2013 academic year.

Coaches from both programs will be honored at the annual USTFCCCA Convention, which will be held in Phoenix, Arizona, from December 12-15.

The USTFCCCA Program of the Year Award is given annually to the most outstanding cross country and track & field programs in each of the NCAA’s three divisions, the NAIA and for each gender in those organizations. The award honors the institution that has achieved the most success in each academic year (spanning the cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field seasons) based on finishes at the NCAA or NAIA Championships.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the NCAA or NAIA Championships. Scoring is based on the team’s finish at those meets (1st = 1 point, 2nd = 2 points, etc.) and the team with the lowest combined score is crowned champion.

NCAA Division I Program of the Year Final Standings

Men’s Team Pts Women’s Team Pts
1. Arkansas 14 1. Oregon 3
2. Oregon 21 2. Colorado 22
3. Ole Miss 37 3. Arkansas 30
4. Tulsa 39 3. Stanford 30
4. Virginia 39 5. Michigan/Missouri 41.5

The Women of Oregon completed the first women’s Triple Crown in NCAA Division I history (winning titles in cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field during the same academic year) and were named the Terry Crawford Women’s Program of the Year for the 9th time.

Outside of their romp in College Station, Texas, during the indoor meet, neither of the other two championships for the Ducks came easy. Oregon won by 1 point in Terre Haute, Indiana, and needed to win the 4×400 this past weekend at Historic Hayward Field to beat Georgia.

Colorado finished a distant 2nd in the Program of the Year standings with 22 points, while Arkansas and Stanford tied for 3rd with 30 points. Michigan and Missouri tied for 5th.

This is the 2nd time in the past 5 years that Arkansas was named the John McDonnell Men’s Program of the Year. The Razorbacks won in 2012-13, but finished 3rd in 2013-14 and runner-up to Oregon in both 2014-15 and 2015-16.

Arkansas ended up no worse than 5th at any of the NCAA Championships and totaled 14 points. The Razorbacks were 5th in both cross country and indoor track & field and rallied to a 4th place showing this past weekend in Eugene, Oregon.

Oregon finished 2nd in the Program of the Year standings with 21 points, while Ole Miss took 3rd (37). Tulsa and Virginia tied for 4th with 39 points.

The Bowerman 2022 - Finalists Fan Voting


The online fan vote will close Thursday, June 30 at 2:00 p.m., Eastern.