RECAP: Individual Performances, Close Finishes Highlight Day 1 Of National Relay Championships

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – A pair of individual performances by Kentucky women and incredibly close finishes in the relay portion of the meet highlighted the first day of the National Relay Championships at John McDonnell Field.

For starters, Sydney McLaughlin and Jasmine Camacho-Quinn torched the track in their signature hurdle events.

QUICK LINKS: Collegiate Record Book | National Relay Championships

McLaughlin made her collegiate debut in the 400 hurdles, an event in which she placed third at the 2016 U.S. Olympic Trials and competed in the ensuing Rio Olympic Games.

The freshman phenom broke the stagger with 200 meters to go and crossed the finish line in 53.60. Not only did McLaughlin notch the fourth fastest time in collegiate history and the all-time collegiate freshman record, she also lowered her world junior record.

Camacho-Quinn dominated the proceedings in the 100 hurdles, an event in which she won the 2016 NCAA title and placed runner-up last year. The junior broke the tape in a windy 12.53, which is the fourth fastest wind-aided time in collegiate history and the eighth fastest mark regardless of conditions.

Later in the meet, the Stanford women clocked the third fastest time in collegiate history in the sprint medley (3:41.59) to edge Baylor, which ran the fifth fastest time in collegiate history (3:42.11). Olivia Baker anchored the Cardinal in 2:00.90.

Each of the other relay events on Friday featured razor-thin margins at the top.

Oklahoma State won the women’s 4×1500 over Arkansas by a fraction more than one second (17:45.75 to 17:46.87).

The Razorback men edged Kentucky in their 4×1500 by 0.20 seconds (15:14.18 to 15:14.38).

Finally, the men’s sprint medley came down to a dive across the finish line. Florida won that one over Kentucky to the tune of 3:16.938 to 3:16.939.

Day 2 of the National Relay Championships begins at 10:45 am CT with the men’s hammer, while the running events go live on the SEC Network at 7 pm CT.