Alex Phillip, John Carroll: 2022 NCAA Division III Men’s Cross Country National Athlete of the Year

Alex Phillip dashed through the snow on his way to history at the 2022 NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships in East Lansing, Michigan. Phillip, who hails from Akron, Ohio, defended his individual title, covering the 8k course in 24:37.6. That made Phillip just the third man in the past 22 years to go back-to-back at the NCAA Championships: Josh Moen of Wartburg in 2003-2004 and Ian LaMere of UW-Platteville in 2015-2016 are the others. Earlier in the season, Phillip won the individual title at the Great Lakes Region Championships in 23:56.7. He also earned top individual honors at the OAC Cross Country Championships, finished second at the Spartan Invitational and clocked one of the fastest times by an NCAA DIII runner ever at the Paul Short Run at 23:14.7.