Laurie Henes, NC State: 2022 NCAA Division I Women’s Cross Country National Coach of the Year (Peter Tegen Award)

Laurie Henes showed NC State the way and her team turned away every challenger all season long. Henes, in her 17th year as head coach of the Wolfpack, led them to the team title at the 2022 NCAA DI Cross Country Championships and was named the Women’s Cross Country National Coach of the Year. NC State, which became the first women’s program to go back-to-back at the NCAA Championships since Villanova in 2009 and 2010, went undefeated in 2022: the Wolfpack captured team titles at the Southeast Region Championships, ACC Cross Country Championships, Nuttycombe Wisconsin Invitational, Joe Piane Invitational and the adidas Wolfpack Invitational. Henes is the first coach to earn this honor in consecutive years since Gina Procaccio of Villanova in 2009 and 2010.