Inaugural State-by-State USTFCCCA High School Coach of the Year Winners Announced
Award History
USTFCCCA TF High School State COY

Inaugural State-by-State USTFCCCA High School Coach of the Year Winners Announced

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced Tuesday the state-by-state winners of its inaugural High School Coach of the Year award.

One boys coach and one girls coach from each of the 50 states – as seen in the lists below – were honored for their successes during the 2014 track & field season, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association’s first-ever National High School Coach of the Year award. Selected by a panel of track & field experts, one boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be announced later this month as the national winners.

"We’ve established a tradition of recognizing our nation’s top collegiate coaches on a yearly basis, and we felt it was time to shine the spotlight on our best coaches at the high school level," USTFCCCA CEO Sam Seemes said.

"As a professional coaches association, we deeply value the excellent work being done by high school coaches around the country, embodied by all of today’s award winners. They are not only preparing student-athletes for their next competitions but, more importantly, the next steps along their paths to adulthood."

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams’ performances throughout the 2014 track & field season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, the number of different events in which student-athletes were qualified, individual championships, and how their teams’ performances stacked up to previous years (ex. First title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

"This is the most prestigious award that a high school coach could ever attain," National Senate of High School Track Coaches Associations Executive Chair Don Helberg said. "I am so happy and proud that USTFCCCA has added this award to the collegiate awards they already present."

An inaugural High School Coach of the Year award for cross country will be bestowed during the upcoming 2014 season.


The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) is a non-profit professional organization representing cross country and track & field coaches of all levels. The organization represents over 8,000 coaching members encompassing 94% of all NCAA track & field programs (DI, DII, and DIII) and includes members representing the NAIA as well as a number of state high school coaches associations. The USTFCCCA serves as an advocate for cross country and track & field coaches, providing a leadership structure to assist the needs of a diverse membership, serving as a lobbyist for coaches’ interests, and working as a liaison between the various stakeholders in the sports of cross country and track & field.


Boys Coaches of the Year by State

State Coach Name Coach School
Alabama Tom Esslinger Homewood High School
Alaska Scott Campbell Diamond High School
Arizona Tim Kelly Corona del Sol High School
Arkansas Denny Burdine Arkansas High School
California Rick Martinez Mater Dei High School
Colorado Josh Trahan Palmer Ridge High School
Connecticut Kelvan Kearse Windsor High School
Delaware Mike Tucci Caesar Rodney High School
Florida Alex Armenteros St. Thomas Aquinas High School
Georgia Rob Blaszkiewicz Shiloh High School
Hawaii Harvey McInerny Kamehameha Schools Kaplama
Idaho Brad Abbott Rocky Mountain High School
Illinois Leroy Millsap Cahokia High School
Indiana Gene Johnson Gary West Side Leadership Academy
Iowa Brent Heitland Waukee High School
Kansas Cory Swords Wichita-Bishop Carroll Catholic High School
Kentucky James Webb North Hardin High School
Louisiana Preston Curtis John Curtis High School
Maine Steve Virgilio Cheverus High School
Maryland Marlon Turner Frederick Douglass High School
Massachusetts Michael Fowle Woburn High School
Michigan Dave Emeott East Kentwood High School
Minnesota Nick Lovas Hopkins Senior High School
Mississippi Michael Fields Hinds AHigh School
Missouri Rodney Baldridge Lamar High School
Montana Tony Arntson Helena High School
Nebraska Bob Talbitzer Kearney High School
Nevada Mike Paul Dayton High School
New Hampshire Carol Quarles Pinkerton Academy
New Jersey Mike McCabe Union Catholic High School
New Mexico Kenneith Henry Sue Cleveland High School
New York Mike Potter Warwick Valley High School
North Carolina Patrick Cromwell Mt. Tabor High School
North Dakota Dave Zittleman
Darrell Anderson
Bismarck High School
Ohio Theodore Ginn Sr. Cleveland Glenville High School.
Oklahoma Steve Patterson Jenks High School
Oregon Tom Rothenberger Jesuit High School
Pennsylvania Robert Beale Cheltenham High School
Rhode Island Charlie Breagy North Kingstown High School
South Carolina Calvin Hudgins Northwestern High School
South Dakota Jim Jarovski Sioux Falls Lincoln High School
Tennessee Aaron Martens Houston High School
Texas Tate Symons Kingwood High School
Utah Chase Englestead Riverton High School
Vermont Geoff Bennett South Burlington High School
Virginia Neil Mathews Lee Davis High School
Washington Chris Williams Federal Way High School
West Virginia Rod O’Donnell Parkersburg High School
Wisconsin Steve Pratt Kimberly High School
Wyoming Ernie Mecca Thermopolis High School

Girls Coaches of the Year by State

State Coach Name Coach School
Alabama Devon Hind Hoover High School
Alaska Tara Edwards Grace Christian High School
Arizona Cassandra Cline-McKenzie Desert Vista High School
Arkansas Brett Unger Har-Ber High School
California Don Norford Long Beach Poly High School
Colorado Conrad Crist Fort Collins High School
Connecticut Jesse McCray Staples High School
Delaware Patrick Castagno Tatnall School
Florida Carmen Jackson Northwestern High School
Georgia Json Cage Westlake High School
Hawaii Bobby Grossman Seabury Hall High School
Idaho Jake Wimer
Cori Mooney
Boise High School
Illinois Wendy Hegarty Lincoln-Way East High School
Indiana Tim Richey Lawrence Central High School
Iowa Tim O’Neill Assumption High School
Kansas Jordan Rose Lawrence-Free State High School
Kentucky Kathy Broadnax Bryan Station High School
Louisiana Chris Carrier Zachary High School
Maine Ian Wilson Waterville High School
Maryland Valerie Harrington Huntingtown High School
Massachusetts Joe Tranchita Newton North High School
Michigan Brandon Jiles Oak Park High School
Minnesota Jane Reimer-Morgan Minnetonka High School
Mississippi Jonathan Perkins Clinton High School
Missouri Sheldon Webster McCluer North High School
Montana Spencer Huls Corvallis High School
Nebraska Brett Schuster Lincoln Southwest High School
Nevada Roy Session Centennial High School
New Hampshire Tim Cox
David Zink-Mailloux
Coe-Brown Northwood Academy
New Jersey Jason Russo Haddonfield Memorial High School
New Mexico Kathy Brion Eldorado High School
New York Shaun Dietz Medgar Evers College Prep
North Carolina Antwan Hughes Parkland Magnet High School
North Dakota Nick Walker Century High School
Ohio Brian  Sabol Solon High School
Oklahoma Jerry Whaley Naylor Plainview Public Schools
Oregon Dave Turnbull Summit High School
Pennsylvania Ron Colland Hempfield Area High School
Rhode Island Bob Palazzo Classical High School
South Carolina Calvin Hudgins Northwestern High School
South Dakota Bob Garry Sioux Falls Christian High School
Tennessee Christina Webb Northeast High School
Texas Beverly Humphrey Lancaster High School
Utah Jeff Rawlins Box Elder High School
Vermont Joe Gonillo
Katie White
Essex High School
Virginia Claude Toukene Western Branch High School
Washington Cheryl Schauble Kamiakin High School
West Virginia Zach Hall Williamstown High School
Wisconsin David Dixon Hayward High School
Wyoming Shelly Stremcha Campbell County High School