Award History
USTFCCCA TF High School State COY

2018 USTFCCCA High School T&F Coaches of the Year (State-By-State Winners)

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced the state-by-state winners of its fifth annual High School Coach of the Year award for track & field on Monday.

One boys coach and one girls coach from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia – as seen in the lists below – were honored for their successes during the spring of 2018, as selected by a committee of experts from around the nation.

QUICK LINKS: Boys Coaches | Girls Coaches

State-by-state winners were selected based on their teams’ performances throughout the 2018 outdoor track & field season. Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams’ performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Each honoree will receive a trophy from the USTFCCCA recognizing his or her achievements.

The winners from each state are in consideration for the association’s National High School Track & Field Coach of the Year award. One boys coach and one girls coach from among all the states will be selected by a panel of experts and those winners will be announced later this month.

The full lists can be seen below.

2018 USTFCCCA Boys High School Track & Field Coaches of the Year – State-By-State Winners

State Name School
Alabama Steve Reaves Winfield High School
Alaska Jason Hofacker Anchorage Christian Schools
Arizona Brian Whitacre Casteel High School
Arkansas Michael Stout Vilonia High School
California Aaron Ballou Murrieta Mesa High School
Colorado Josh Walton Bayfield High School
Connecticut Robert Murray Danbury High School
Delaware Steven Lantz Alexis I. duPont High School
District of Columbia Tia Clemmons Woodrow Wilson High School
Florida John W. Battle III Hallandale Magnet High High School
Georgia Matt Henson Parkview High School
Hawaii Todd Iacovelli Punahou School
Idaho Brad Abbott Rocky Mountain High School
Illinois Mike Kennedy Neuqua Valley High School
Indiana Zach Toothman Avon High School
Iowa Davis Eidahl Pekin Community High School
Kansas Cory Swords Bishop Carroll Catholic High School
Kentucky Scott Holzknecht Trinity High School
Louisiana Claney Duplechin Episcopal High School
Maine Ted Hutch York High School
Maryland Robert Youngblood Northwest High School
Massachusetts Dave Casey Lowell High School
Michigan Dave Emeott East Kentwood High School
Minnesota Aaron Berndt Wayzata High School
Mississippi Joey  Hawkins Presbyterian Christian School
Missouri Andrew Youngworth Carthage High School
Montana Arron Deck Glacier High School
Nebraska Karen Schlueter Beatrice High School
Nevada Justin Locke White Pine High School
New Hampshire Mike Lyford Portsmouth High School
New Jersey Rashone Johnson Princeton High School
New Mexico Kenny Henry V. Sue Cleveland High School
New York Jason Strom Northport High School
North Carolina Firman Walden Green Hope High School
North Dakota Craig Kovash Trinity High School
Ohio Tom Loy East Canton High School
Oklahoma Tex Rollins Carl Albert High School
Oregon Julie Fitzgerald Bodfish La Grande High School
Pennsylvania Terry & Allyson McKechnie Schuylkill Valley High School
Rhode Island Jim Doyle Bishop Hendricken High School
South Carolina Kevin Shiver Wando High School
South Dakota Rory Hermsen Freeman Jr./Sr. High School
Tennessee Andrew Reynolds, Sr. Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School
Texas Juris Green The Woodlands High School
Utah Jeff Wales Springville High School
Vermont Katie White Essex High School
Virginia Adam Canning L. C. Bird High School
Washington Kevin Eager Gig Harbor High School
West Virginia Eric Cooper Hurricane High School
Wisconsin Brad Hoerth Kimberly High School
Wyoming Joe Koritnik Lovell High School


2018 USTFCCCA Girls High School Track & Field Coaches of the Year – State-By-State Winners

State Name School
Alabama Tom Esslinger Homewood High School
Alaska Jeremy Strong Sitka High School
Arizona Michael Johnson Snowflake High School
Arkansas Heather Wade Pea Ridge High School
California Chris Calvin Junipero Serra High School
Colorado Chris Faust Cherokee Trail High School
Connecticut Anne Burrows Bloomfield High School
Delaware Marnie Giunta Padua Academy
District of Columbia Desmond Dunham St. John’s College High School
Florida Alex Armenteros St. Thomas Aquinas High School
Georgia Brian Robinson Robert S. Alexander High School
Georgia Steve Duncan Robert S. Alexander High School
Hawaii Duncan Macdonald Punahou School
Idaho Tracy Harris Mountain View High School
Illinois Patrick Garst Dunlap High School
Indiana Julie Alano Hamilton Southeastern High School
Iowa Jesse Hunt Waukee High School
Kansas Kim Lohse Hanover High School
Kentucky Brent Wagner Boyle County High School
Louisiana Chris Carrier Zachary High School
Maine Steve Virgilio Cheverus High School
Maryland Darrell Diamond Harford Technical High School
Massachusetts Tim Cimeno Sharon High School
Michigan Jill Feldpausch Fowler High School
Minnesota John Steffen Minnetonka High School
Mississippi JJ Downs Center Hill High School
Missouri Jim Lohr Mary Institute and St. Louis Country Day School
Montana Craig Mettler Sentinel High School
Nebraska Rick Nordhues Syracuse-Dunbar-Avoca High School
Nevada Roy Sessions Centennial High School
New Hampshire Stan Lyford Portsmouth High School
New Jersey Mike McCabe Union Catholic Regional High School
New Mexico Jim Ciccarello La Cueva High School
New York Mike DeMay Rush–Henrietta Senior High School
North Carolina Jason Smoots Hillside High School
North Dakota Rory Beil Davies High School
Ohio Roger Whittaker Lincoln High School
Oklahoma Christa Geary Del City High School
Oregon Nick Davies Jesuit High School
Pennsylvania Lincoln Townsend Jr. Ss. John Neumann and Maria Goretti High School
Rhode Island David Federico Westerly High School
South Carolina Kevin Shiver Wando High School
South Dakota Troy Sturgeon Brandon Valley High School
Tennessee Wayne Hines East Nashville Magnet High School
Texas Lauren Jones Lake Ridge High School
Utah Troy Norris Panguitch High School
Vermont Mark McKenna Rice Memorial High School
Virginia Claude Toukene Western Branch High School
Washington Jeff Brady Tahoma High School
West Virginia Craig Kellar Doddridge County High School
Wisconsin Chris Ramsey Waukesha West High School
Wyoming Bill Lehr Big Piney High School