Meet Recap: 2022 NJCAA DIII Cross Country Championships

Champions were crowned on Saturday at the 2022 NJCAA DIII Cross Country Championships!

The meet was held at Stanley Park in Westfield, Massachusetts.

From The USTFCCCA InfoZoneMeets & Results | USTFCCCA Scoreboard
RelatedNational Championships Central | Rankings & Polls Central

Both No. 1-ranked teams finished second, although the women’s race was just about as close as possible in the 32nd edition of these championships.

2022 NJCAA DIII Cross Country Championships – Final Results

Men’s Team
Women’s Team
No. 2 DuPage (Ill.)
No. 4 Harper (Ill.)
No. 1 Mineral Area (Mo.) CC
No. 1 Mineral Area (Mo.) CC
No. 3 Joliet (Ill.) JC
No. 2 Oxford (Ga.)
No. 7 SUNY Broome CC
No. 3 Joliet (Ill.) JC
No. 4 Harper (Ill.)
DuPage (Ill.)

Men’s 8k Race

No. 2 College of DuPage – led by individual winner Nicholas Keeling – packed all five scorers in the top-15 in racing to its first national title, scoring 42 points. The Chaps – third last year – also had all seven in the top-20 for good measure.

No. 1 Mineral Area (Mo.) – runner-up last year after winning in 2019 and 2020 – was second with 83 points, followed by defending champion No. 3 Joliet (Ill.) JC (103), No. 7 SUNY Broome CC (141) and No. 4 Harper (Ill.) (212).

Keeling roared to a large victory, covering the 8k course in 25:36.2 to win by 1:16.8 over Brad Ahrens of Mineral Area (26:53.0). Keeling is the first individual champ from DuPage since 2006.

Women’s 5k Race

An extremely close team finish saw No. 4 Harper (Ill.) soar above three teams ranked higher to win the Hawks’ first title since 2018. Harper tallied 52 points, just one digit ahead of No. 1 Mineral Area (Mo.) CC with defending champion No. 2 Oxford (Ga.) right in the mix with 55 points. Harper’s top-3 went 1-4-6 in team scoring, staking the Hawks to a big lead, but Mineral Area fought back and was the first team with all five scorers to finish. Harper’s final two scorers were 20-21 in team scoring as the Hawks outdid both Mineral Area (3-7-13-14-16) and Oxford (5-8-9-11-22) in a thrilling team battle.

No. 3 Joliet (Ill.) JC – last year’s runner-up and the 2020 team champions – was fourth with 89 points, while unranked College of DuPage (Ill.) was fifth with 153 points.

The individual race was won by Lydia Smith of SUNY Erie CC. Smith – SUNY Erie’s first-ever national champ – covered the 5k course in 19:14.3 to win by 9.8 seconds over Payden Pietrusinski of St. Charles (Mo.) CC (19:24.1). Lilly Alberts was Harper’s top runner, taking third in 19:33.3.