Weekend Recap: NCAA DII & NAIA Cross Country Conference Championships

EDITOR’S NOTE: We’ll continue to update this post throughout the weekend.

Conference Championships Weekend is underway!

That means the postseason is rolling along.

From The USTFCCCA InfoZoneMeets & Results | USTFCCCA Scoreboard
RelatedConference Championships Central | Rankings & Polls Central

Competition was fierce as conference glory was on the line.

Here are some meets that stood out the most to us from the slate.

2022 RMAC Championships

Men’s Team
Women’s Team
No. 1 Colo. School of Mines
No. 1 Adams State
No. 2 Adams State
No. 3 Colo. School of Mines
No. 9 Western Colorado
No. 4 UC-Colorado Springs
No. 16 UC Colorado Springs
No. 9 Western Colorado
Colorado Mesa
No. 22 CSU Pueblo

Men’s 8k Race

Dillon Powell and top-ranked Colorado School of Mines delivered.

Powell and the Orediggers swept both titles with ease, winning going away at the Fort Lewis College XC Course in Durango, Colorado. The former led the charge, covering the 8k tract in 24:05.6 to beat runner-up Afewerki Zeru of CSU Pueblo by more than 14 seconds. Powell didn’t have to wait long to see his teammates, as four finished among the top-10 athletes: Chris Cathcart was third in 24:35.1; Duncan Fuehne was fifth in 24:43.5; Paul Knight was eighth in 25:00.6; and Luke Julian was ninth in 25:02.8.

All told, Colorado School of Mines routed a field that also included No. 2 Adams State, No. 9 Western Colorado, No. 10 Colorado Christian and No. 16 UC-Colorado Springs. The Orediggers won the team title with 26 points, 20 fewer than the runner-up Grizzlies (46). The Mountaineers finished third with 91 points, followed by the Mountain Lions with 110 and Colorado Mesa with 150.

Women’s 6k Race

It wasn’t close.

Stephanie Cotter and Adams State made sure of that.

Cotter won the individual title in 20:45.7 as she led a 1-2-3-4 finish by the Grizzlies at the Fort Lewis College XC Course in Durango, Colorado. Behind Cotter were Brianna Robles (second, 20:50.7), Precious Robinson (third, 21:30.1) and Emily Schoellkopf (fourth 21:33.9) in the top-5, along with Nicole Lawrence in seventh at 21:59.2 to round out the scoring lineup and give Adams State just 17 points.

No. 3 Colorado School of Mines finished a very distant runner-up with 76 points, followed by No. 4 UC-Colorado Springs with 88, No. 9 Western Colorado with 109 and No. 22 CSU Pueblo with 113.

2022 Crossroads League Championships

Men’s Team
Women’s Team
No. 4 Indiana Wesleyan
No. 1 Taylor (Ind.)
No. 12 Huntington (Ind.)
No. 12 Indiana Wesleyan
No. 16 Taylor (Ind.)
No. 9 Huntington (Ind.)
No. 13 Grace (Ind.)
No. 15 Grace (Ind.)
No. 20 Spring Arbor (Mich.)
RV Goshen (Ind.)

Men’s 8k Race

No. 4 Indiana Wesleyan won its first team title since 2019, scoring 40 points as the Wildcats had four top-8 finishers. Runner-up honors went to No. 12 Huntington (Ind.) with 54 as the Foresters were led by an impressive group of top runners that finished 2-3-4. The top-5 was completed by No. 16 Taylor (Ind.) with 88 points ahead of No. 13 Grace (Ind.), which edged No. 20 Spring Arbor (Mich.) for fourth, 104-105. This conference is so deep that No. 24 Goshen (Ind.) and perhaps RV Marian (Ind.) will receive consideration for at-large berths to the NAIA Championships.

Individually, IWU got the low-stick from Eli Fullerton in 25:12.6. He was a 10.4-second winner over a Huntington trio led by Reece Gibson (25:23.0), with reigning champion Haile Stutzman – who also won in 2019 – following in 25:23.7 ahead of the Foresters’ Kent Yoder (25:26.1).

Women’s 5k Race

No. 1 Taylor easily captured its 10th-straight team title, placing its scoring five within the top-7 for a total of 24 points. No. 12 Indiana Wesleyan edged No. 9 Huntington (Ind.), 80-81, as the Wildcats earned runner-up honors for a second-straight year. Rounding out the top-5 were No. 15 Grace (Ind.) with 113 points and RV Goshen (Ind.) with 138 points.

Freshman Addy Wiley of Huntington won the individual title by 23.6 seconds, covering the 5k course in 17:26.3. Taylor’s Abbey Brennan was runner-up for the second-straight year, leading a wave of Trojans whose scoring-five was packed within 32.9 seconds of each other.

Other Meets Of Interest

GLIAC Championships


Grand Valley State is just too good.

How good? Try sweeping all four titles. Try putting up a perfect score.

Fifteen points is what the second-ranked Laker women amassed to win yet another crown at the GLIAC Championships on Friday. Natalie Graber led the charge with the low stick at 21:04.8, which put her almost 21 seconds faster than teammate Lauren Kiley (second, 21:25.4). Behind Graber and Kiley were Klaudia O’Malley (third, 21:27.2), Abby Vanderkooi (fourth, 21:39.7) and Taryn Chapko (fifth, 21:44.4). This is the second year in a row that GVSU achieved perfection at this meet. The Lakers almost went 1-6, if it weren’t for Arianna Wegienka of Saginaw Valley State. The rest of the team standings fell in line with the National Coaches’ Poll: No. 21 Wayne State (Mich.) finished second with 66 points; No. 25 Saginaw Valley State was third with 91 points; No. 27 Michigan Tech was fourth with 138.

GVSU wasn’t nearly as unblemished in the men’s race, but still dominated the field. The third-ranked Lakers sent six runners across the finish line in the top-10 as they scored just 28 points. Tanner Chada guided GVSU as he won the individual title in a rout. Lockstep with several other athletes at the 4k split, Chada pulled away – and kept going – to win by nearly 30 seconds in 23:56.9. Caleb Futter took third for the Lakers in 24:30.5 behind runner-up Dayton Brown of Saginaw Valley State in 24:26.0. Futter’s teammates Brock Wooderson (seventh, 24:38.5), Scott Spaanstra (eighth, 24:48.1) and Andrew Hylen (ninth, 24:53.4) weren’t too far behind. No. 23 Saginaw Valley State finished runner-up with 61 points, followed by No. 20 Michigan Tech in third with 75 and Wayne State (Mich.) in fourth with 103.

Cascade Conference Championships


Great racing prevailed again in the Pacific Northwest, including an upset that somehow seems natural to this territory.

In the opening men’s 8k race, host No. 11 Southern Oregon won its first team title since 2017, ending the four-year string of No. 14 College of Idaho. The Raiders scored 34 points – placing four in the top-10 – ahead of the Yotes’ total of 62. Both were ahead of the 66 points staked by No. 5 Eastern Oregon. Fourth place went to No. 22 Oregon Tech (117) as No. 15 Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) rounded out the top-5 with 122 points.

Isaac Fernandez of Southern Oregon earned individual honors, clocking 25:18.7 to better Oregon Tech’s Nick McMillen by 5.5 seconds. Micah Murphy of Northwest (Wash.) crossed the line first in 24:41.4 but was disqualified.

The women’s 5k went close to form, although No. 7 College of Idaho was dominant in winning with 17 points. The Yotes went 1-4 – led by a repeat individual 1-2 of Ellyse Tingelstad and Sage Martin – for a fourth-straight CCC title. No. 11 Southern Oregon was second with 49 points, followed by No. 21 Lewis-Clark (83), Oregon Tech (136) and Eastern Oregon (142).

Tingelstad’s margin over Martin was just one second, winning in 18:27.9 as total of four Yotes finished sub-19 to a complete its 1-4 finish.

AAC Championships


Milligan made quick work of the Appalachian Athletic Conference Championships on Friday. The Buffs swept both the individual titles and the team titles at the Columbia College Cross Country Course as Bryn Woodall led the top-ranked men to their 20-point score with his low stick at 24:26.2 and Ellen-Mary Kearney paced the second-ranked women to their 21-point total in first place at 17:28.6.