Iona College Named USTFCCCA Division I Men’s XC Scholar Team of the Year

Iona College Named USTFCCCA Division I Men’s XC Scholar Team of the Year

NEW ORLEANS –For the third straight year, the Iona College Gaels are the 2008 NCAA Division I USTFCCCA Men’s Cross Country Scholar Team of the Year, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced on Thursday.  Iona finished 2nd at both the 2007 and 2008 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships.

Iona won their fourth straight Northeast Regional Championship and their 18th straight MAAC title on the way to their 2008 runner-up finish at the NCAA Championships. Iona, which maintains a cumulative 3.050 grade point average, also earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors in 2005, 2006, and 2007. 

Vanderbilt University had the highest overall team grade point average (3.755).  A record total of 110 Division I men’s programs received the USTFCCCA’s All-Academic Team honors this year compared to 98 schools earning the honor last season.

Thirty-five percent of all Division I institutions (315) who sponsor men’s cross country received the honor.  In addition, 7 of the top 10 and 14 of the top 20 teams in the championship field at this year’s NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships were named USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams.

The Big Ten Conference, Big 12 Conference, Missouri Valley Conference, and the Southeastern Conference tied for the most conference members represented on the list with six teams each.

For a team to be considered for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team award, they must have competed and compiled a team score at an NCAA Regional Meet.  The team must also have a minimum 3.00 team cumulative grade point average.

The 2008 NCAA Division I USTFCCCA Men’s All-Academic Teams

Arizona State University Pacific-10 Conference 3.090
Austin Peay State University Ohio Valley Conference 3.041
Belmont University Atlantic Sun Conference 3.580
Brigham Young University Mountain West Conference 3.180
Brown University Ivy Group 3.070
Bucknell University Patriot League 3.150
Butler University Horizon League 3.363
Central Michigan University Mid-American Conference 3.164
Clemson University Atlantic Coast Conference 3.170
Colgate University Patriot League 3.320
Columbia University Ivy Group 3.121
Cornell University Ivy Group 3.190
Creighton University Missouri Valley Conference 3.500
Davidson College Southern Conference 3.210
DePaul University Big East Conference 3.431
Drake University Missouri Valley Conference 3.410
East Carolina University Conference USA 3.270
East Tennessee State University Atlantic Sun Conference 3.066
Eastern Washington University Big Sky Conference 3.330
Fairfield University Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference 3.130
Furman University Southern Conference 3.120
George Mason University Colonial Athletic Association 3.280
Georgia Institute of Technology Atlantic Coast Conference 3.360
Georgia State University Colonial Athletic Association 3.070
Harvard University Ivy Group 3.318
High Point University Big South Conference 3.330
Idaho State University Big Sky Conference 3.230
Illinois State University Missouri Valley Conference 3.000
Indiana University, Bloomington Big Ten Conference 3.220
Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne The Summit League 3.491
Iona College Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference 3.050
Iowa State University Big 12 Conference 3.250
Kent State University Mid-American Conference 3.029
Lafayette College Patriot League 3.170
Lehigh University Patriot League 3.250
Liberty University Big South Conference 3.024
Lipscomb University Atlantic Sun Conference 3.340
Loyola College (Maryland) Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference 3.336
Loyola Marymount University West Coast Conference 3.010
Marquette University Big East Conference 3.314
Miami University (Ohio) Mid-American Conference 3.160
Monmouth University Northeast Conference 3.190
Montana State University – Bozeman Big Sky Conference 3.430
North Carolina State University Atlantic Coast Conference 3.209
North Dakota State University The Summit League 3.180
Northern Arizona University Big Sky Conference 3.300
Oakland University The Summit League 3.157
Ohio University Mid-American Conference 3.296
Oklahoma State University Big 12 Conference 3.135
Purdue University Big Ten Conference 3.320
Quinnipiac University Northeast Conference 3.180
Rutgers, State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick Big East Conference 3.290
Sacred Heart University Northeast Conference 3.212
Samford University Southern Conference 3.276
Santa Clara University West Coast Conference 3.138
Siena College Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference 3.350
South Dakota State University The Summit League 3.139
Southeast Missouri State University Ohio Valley Conference 3.388
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale Missouri Valley Conference 3.380
Stanford University Pacific-10 Conference 3.399
State University of New York at Binghamton America East Conference 3.260
Stephen F. Austin State University Southland Conference 3.228
Stony Brook University America East Conference 3.010
Texas Tech University Big 12 Conference 3.060
The Ohio State University Big Ten Conference 3.160
Troy University Sun Belt Conference 3.020
U.S. Air Force Academy Mountain West Conference 3.050
U.S. Military Academy Patriot League 3.094
University at Buffalo, the State University of New York Mid-American Conference 3.174
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa Southeastern Conference 3.302
University of Arkansas, Little Rock Sun Belt Conference 3.320
University of California, Irvine Big West Conference 3.000
University of California, Los Angeles Pacific-10 Conference 3.066
University of California, Riverside Big West Conference 3.006
University of Cincinnati Big East Conference 3.471
University of Colorado, Boulder Big 12 Conference 3.082
University of Dayton Atlantic 10 Conference 3.457
University of Delaware Colonial Athletic Association 3.040
University of Detroit Mercy Horizon League 3.448
University of Evansville Missouri Valley Conference 3.328
University of Florida Southeastern Conference 3.086
University of Georgia Southeastern Conference 3.160
University of Illinois, Champaign Big Ten Conference 3.253
University of Iowa Big Ten Conference 3.285
University of Kentucky Southeastern Conference 3.282
University of Louisville Big East Conference 3.632
University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Big Ten Conference 3.197
University of Missouri, Columbia Big 12 Conference 3.302
University of Nebraska, Lincoln Big 12 Conference 3.302
University of New Mexico Mountain West Conference 3.060
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Atlantic Coast Conference 3.095
University of North Carolina, Charlotte Atlantic 10 Conference 3.226
University of North Carolina, Wilmington Colonial Athletic Association 3.400
University of Portland West Coast Conference 3.269
University of Richmond Atlantic 10 Conference 3.260
University of San Francisco West Coast Conference 3.141
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Southern Conference 3.275
University of Tennessee, Knoxville Southeastern Conference 3.120
University of Vermont America East Conference 3.231
University of Washington Pacific-10 Conference 3.260
Utah State University Western Athletic Conference 3.730
Valparaiso University Horizon League 3.210
Vanderbilt University Southeastern Conference 3.755
Virginia Tech Atlantic Coast Conference 3.130
Wagner College Northeast Conference 3.700
Weber State University Big Sky Conference 3.450
Western Kentucky University Sun Belt Conference 3.270
Wichita State University Missouri Valley Conference 3.200
Wright State University Horizon League 3.411
Yale University Ivy Group 3.520